HCG – can it really be that easy?

I am a sucker for a good Groupon, Lifebooker, or LivingSocial deal, so when I checked my email one morning while on vacation in Puerto Rico and saw that I could get a 40-day supply of HCG weight loss drops – normally $104 dollars – for ONLY $39 I just haddd to have it. Nevermind that up until that morning I had never even heard of HCG – suddenly I was all about it. All you do is take the drops before each meal? An easy AND cheap way to lose weight? Sign me up! I bought it right away, then spent the rest of my vacation eating delicious meals of rice and beans without worrying about calories.

After I got home from vacation I went onto the website that sold the HCG drops and placed my order, using my special code in order to get my discount. Yay! I soon received my confirmation email, which contained two pdfs – a 60-page “manuscript” describing the nature, origins, etc. of HCG, and another 60-page pdf laying out the diet. Within the hour I had read them both.

The sales pitch: HCG – Human chorionic gonadotropin – is a hormone found in pregnant women that enables them to burn fat, including fat in typical “trouble zone” areas such as the gut, thighs, upper arms, whatever, where it is usually impossible to slim down. If a pregnant woman was starving, the fat in those areas would be burned and her baby wouldn’t die. Or something. So if a non-pregnant person takes the HCG drops and supplements it with a low-calorie diet, they will lose weight quickly and from places where they want to lose weight!

Can it really be that easy? NO!!! When they say low-calorie diet, they aren’t kidding – only 500-550 calories per day! And you can only eat 2 fruits, 2 vegetables, and 2 proteins per day. There’s no eating after 7pm, and carbs, fat, and – gulp – alcohol are all prohibited. With such a severely restricted diet it would be impossible not to lose weight! But no, it won’t be easy.

However, if I can lose 20 pounds over the next 6 weeks and NOT lose any weight from my boobs I will consider the HCG drops to be a success. I’ve done all the prep work, and tomorrow is the first day of my 550 calorie diet. Fingers crossed!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Dieting, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HCG – can it really be that easy?

  1. Good luck!
    It’s not an “easy” diet, for all it’s simplicity… But it’s been a miracle for me. 🙂

  2. Where did you but it?

Leave a Reply

