Bye bye Manchild

I spent the last two nights on OkCupid. On Friday I changed my profile. Maybe Manchild was correct in that it gave the impression I wasn’t looking for something serious. I changed it from “I’m about to be divorced after 9 years of marriage (don’t worry, it’s amicable. No kids!) and I’m looking to get my feet wet in the dating world” to “I’ve been separated for several years and I’m about to be divorced. Just putting that out there now so it doesn’t lead to an awkward conversation later!”

I didn’t even know you could block people on OkCupid, but after reading THIS BLOG ENTRY I decided that it would be smart to block Manchild, because I knew I would be upset if I saw him online. So I did. But then, last night, I went on using my phone app instead of the computer, and BOOM, there he was in my online favorites. Online, as in looking for other people. It’s like, you had something decent with me but rather end it to find someone else? Arrg. I know that’s his issue, not mine, but the rejection still stings. Today I went on the computer and deleted him from my favorites. I know I should also delete our messages back and forth before our first date, our text messages since we started seeing each other, and his phone number. But that is just so final, and I’m not quite ready for that!

I messaged some guy last night, and he wrote back this morning. It was my first time ever messaging someone first; normally guys message me. But I just needed to get something going to get my mind off Manchild. Like the saying goes, “Nothing gets you over old dick like new dick.”

That is a saying, right?

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bye bye Manchild

  1. emarie24 says:

    Haha, I like your saying. I guess if he’s just looking for a bunch of casual dating and you wanted to take it to the next level, then that doesn’t work for him. Men.

  2. amelia says:

    I love your blog! also, you are better without manchild… his loss, he seems like a, well, manchild.

  3. totally better off without him! 🙂 Good luck with the next guy. And I think it is better to find out what he’s after from the get go, no point wasting time right?

  4. John says:

    Firstly, thanks for linking to my blog! YAY.

    Secondly: I know exactly what you mean with this entry. It’s really discouraging to see your Wyoming or your Manchild (or whoever it is that the dick is attached to) back online and looking for other people, especially when he lands in your matches. Again.

    But you seem to have a good head on your shoulders; him looking for other people and not you is a HIM problem, not a YOU problem. Take your deletion steps slowly. I deleted my texts with Wyoming the day he broke things off, but the messages on OKC and the Gchat conversations are all still there…gulp.

  5. MayDay says:

    Good for you for deleting him. If he’s going to go out actively looking for other people, definitely better to just not keep tabs on his actions since it will only hurt your feelings. On to better things. I know it helped me a lot to make the decision never to look on my ex’s Facebook again. Once you get to the point where you realize knowing what he’s doing is more damaging to you than not knowing what he’s doing.. you won’t even have to go through and delete all the messages between you guys cause you won’t even be tempted to look at them again.

Leave a Reply

