Crab Bisque and Meringue Cookies – HCG Day 28

Yesterday morning while browsing the web I found these two recipes that I was SUPER EXCITED to try – Crab Bisque (pg 69) and Meringue Cookies. I swear, all I could think about all day was making them. It was perfect, because there were three ingredients in my fridge that needed to be used ASAP before they went bad – imitation crab meat, chicken broth, and a carton of Eggbeaters. I just needed to go pick up a few things from the supermarket.

The soup was super easy. Thank god my mom gave me a Ninja. I took a tomato and the chicken broth and pureed it, put it in a pot and heated it up, threw in the crab meat and spices, let it simmer for 20 minutes, and BOOM, it was done. It was awesome.

Crab Bisque

My first batch of meringue cookies didn’t come out quite as good as the bisque. Once again, it’s a simple recipe. Three egg whites, some creme of tartar (which is actually a powder – whodathunkit?), some stevia, and some flavoring. I chose to use almond extract for my first batch. I baked them at 300 degrees for 20 minutes.

My first problem is that I don’t have an electric beater, so I had to use my Ninja, which wasn’t quite as effective this time around. I also didn’t use enough almond or stevia, because while the cookies looked nice, they were kind of bland.

Almond meringue cookies – attempt #1.

I decided to make two more batches, because I’m anxious to get it right and like I said, I need to finish my Eggbeaters. For my second batch I decided to use vanilla extract AND vanilla creme stevia drops. For my third, I used Almond extract and dark chocolate stevia drops. I Ninja-ed the shit out of my third batch, and so they came out A LOT fluffier and bigger. I cooked them both at 200 for 45 minutes, but while the second batch was way too dried out, the third batch wasn’t fully cooked. And both batches were bland as hell, even worse than the first. Next time I’ll have to add more stevia, I guess. But it’s progress!

Batch #2 – Vanilla meringue
Batch #3 – almond and chocolate – definitely the prettiest!
About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Dieting, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

