Overwhelmed by all the compliments…

I had such a great weekend! The only drawback? I gained 1.5 pounds. It was worth it though. (I only say that because I’m still 1 pound under what I was on my last day of the drops, so I’m not in panic mode – yet.)

On Friday I went out with a friend and her friend. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go, because we were meeting up for dinner at a Spanish restaurant and I was nervous about the diet, but I looked at the menu beforehand and even though I couldn’t eat the paella there were tons of tapas for me to order. I stuck to the diet without a problem, actually, except for this one bacon thing which was caramelized. But it was soooo good, and I only had one little piece.

My real problem is that I have trouble stopping myself when it comes to alcohol. I waited until dinner was almost over before I got a glass of wine, but damn, it was so good I ended up having 3 or 4 more. I was pretty drunk by the time we left, though I didn’t realize it until I got home and was lying in bed. To keep from drunk texting Manchild or anybody else, I starting “drunk facebook-status updating.” It was ridiculous, but at least it was harmless.

On Saturday night I was in a REALLY weird frame of mind. Because of my hangover, I was NOT looking forward to going out and drinking. But I didn’t really have a choice, since it was MY birthday and everyone was coming because I invited them. So I sucked it up and got ready.

Out of all the pictures that I took on Saturday night in my goal dress, the one that came out the best is the one I took of myself before I went out:

When I got to the bar most of my friends were already there. Some of my friends brought their friends, most of whom I have met before and really like, so in total there were about 15 people there. All for me! I was almost overcome with emotions. I don’t know why, since I hang out with these people all the time. I was just really touched that they came out for me.

Everyone kept complimenting me on how great I looked. I hate being the center of attention, and I’m not that good at accepting compliments as it is, so getting told, like, 100 times how great I looked was overwhelming. It got to the point that I actually started thinking that maybe one of my friends had said to the others, “Hey, Rory’s been working really hard to lose weight, so make sure you tell her how good she looks…even though it’s not true.” It’s twisted, I know.

I don’t know why I was so worked up, but the result was a strained smile and a deer-in-the-headlights look on my face. My emotions finally mellowed out once I had a few drinks…of course! Once I was back to normal and able to start enjoying myself, I had a blast! The music was great, we danced all night, and I didn’t get home until after 4 in the morning. And since I managed not to get completely hammered, I didn’t feel like crap the next day. Success!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Dieting, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

