Diet update – keeping the weight off

It feels like it has been a really long time since I wrote a diet update, so here we go!

In the past two and a half weeks since I stopped taking the drops and started on the maintenance phase of the hcg diet, I have lost another 3 pounds. At this point I’m not actually trying to lose weight, but it is nice to step on the scale every so often and see I’ve dropped a half pound. However, there are days when I weigh myself and I’m up a pound, so I’m not really paying too much attention to any of it other than to make sure I don’t go over what I weighed the last day I took the drops. I’m just happy that I managed to get through my birthday celebration and my period without gaining weight. And that in general, my weight is still heading in a downward direction.

Although I was supposed to increase my calories to 1400-1700 a day, most days I don’t go over 1200. It’s not that I’m not eating. I am. But I’ve been keeping my portion sizes the same as they were when I was doing the 500 calories a day (i.e. 4 oz meat). So, if I add an extra vegetable to my dinner or use olive oil or cheese, even though I might be adding another 200 calories to my meal, I’m still only averaging 300-400 calories per meal for lunch and dinner. And I rarely go above 200 calories for breakfast.

As much as I enjoyed learning how to cook during the low calorie phase of the diet, this part has been SOOO much more fun! Obviously I’m staying away from sugar, carbs, and grains. I’ve been eating a LOT of dairy – mainly in the form of cheese and half and half. Last Sunday I spent 2 hours making a zucchini lasagna. OMG it was SOOOOOOOOOO good. Honestly I think it’s the best dish I’ve ever made in my life. And the thing is that with all the flavors from the cheese you satisfy the lasagna craving without even missing the noodles!

And of course I have to give another shout out to Miracle Noodles. Those are the best. I swear, between Stevia and Miracle Noodles, I really don’t see why I would ever have to eat carbs/sugar again.

I’ve also been having fun experimenting with desserts. Actually, I guess you can’t really call it “experimenting” since I’m just following recipes I find on the internet, but still. I made these chocolate peanut butter cups that are amazing. And I am really excited right now because this morning I bought some Almond flour, so tonight I’m going to try to make a single serving chocolate cake or something. Using Stevia, of course.

I have so many recipes/photos to post. It’s ironic to me that I used to get so annoyed when friends on facebook would post photos of their meals, and now here I am doing the same thing! I get it now!

I have found myself going into “fat girl mode” a few times, however. So far it has only happened when I come home after a night of drinking (my birthday weekend, and twice this week). I’ll get home and even though it’s really late I head straight for the freezer and eat a chocolate peanut butter cup. I know it’s not the worst thing in the world, since they have no sugar, but they’re still 295 calories and I should not be eating ANYTHING after midnight! Like Gizmo. But at least I haven’t reached the stage where I eat one and then head right back to the freezer for another one.

I bought another bottle of HCG drops, which has already been delivered. I think I’m going to start them on March 5. I’d like to lose another 10-15 pounds.

That’s all for now!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diet update – keeping the weight off

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I “liked” the post, but it didn’t seem to take. So here’s a comment: Happy to read that you are loving learning to cook and are getting a handle on a healthy weight – keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

