Sugar-free chocolate mug cake

So called because you make it in a mug. This might seem obvious just by the name, but I didn’t get it until after watching 3 or 4 youtube videos. I swear the room actually got brighter when that light bulb finally went off over my head. “Ohhhhh, MUG cake.”  I can be pretty slow sometimes…whomp whomp. :-/

Anyway, for Saturday night’s dessert I was extremely excited to use the almond flour I bought. But it was getting late and I couldn’t figure out what to make, so I finally went with the quick and easy HCG Mug Cake.

I’ve made several “mug cakes” over the past few weeks. I had been following this one recipe for “Worry-free 3 minute brownies.” The ingredients are eggs, stevia, and cocoa powder. Like I said, I’m not too quick sometimes, so I didn’t realize that it was a recipe for “Chocolate Eggs” until my mom told me. It came out okay but did nothing to satisfy my chocolate cake craving.

Chocolate eggs. See that “chocolate sauce” on top? That’s actually uncooked egg. It was the best part.

For Saturday’s mug cake I followed this recipe. OH MY GOD IT CAME OUT SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD.

However, I was kind of pissed, because the recipe online said the cake was only 342 calories, but when I put it into my calorie counter it was 525!! WTF?! I guess it’s because I used whipping cream instead of half and half? Going forward I would use low fat milk. Even still, I was down a pound on the scale the next morning (then up half a pound the next day).

Ingredients (this is how I made it):

Dry:
2 Tbs Almond flour
1 Tbs Cocoa powder
3 teaspoons Stevia

Wet:
3 Tbs heavy cream
1 Tbs coconut oil (melted)
1 Egg

Directions:

1. Mix the dry ingredients in a mug. (I “put” the ingredients in a mug as opposed to actually “mixing” them, which I think is why I ended up with a clump of flour on the bottom of the cake. Whoops.)

2. Add the wet ingredients to the mug.

All of the ingredients are in there.

3. Stir thoroughly.

Mix mix mix.

4. Microwave for 90 seconds or longer depending on strength of microwave. I might have done 2 minutes, I can’t really remember.

Just out of the microwave.

5. Eat! I opted to top this one with strawberries, but you could just as easily eat it out of the mug.

Yummy.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sugar-free chocolate mug cake

  1. I have always seen recipes before but never actually visually saw the steps for a mug cake, thanks!

  2. andy1076 says:

    Never thought uncooked egg could make something so delicious 🙂

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    I spent the past 26 years cooking all over the place and never ever ever heard of a mug cake, until now. And here I thought I was too old to learn new tricks.

  4. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Some chocolate mug cake to go with the home made honey ice cream below. This F.I.N.E ass woman named Rory made this on her blog: “notchangingmyname”. I don’t blame her.

  5. This is good recipe for a quick snack.

  6. Now THAT is clever!!!
    (and thanks for stopping into my blog too – so nice to see you again!)

Leave a Reply

