Small goals are easier to achieve than big ones.

This morning I finally hit my *official* weight loss goal of 20 pounds!

(Doin’ the Carlton dance!!)

When I started my diet I picked an “easy” goal of losing 20 pounds. Even though my long-term goal was closer to 40 pounds, it was easier for me to mentally prepare for losing 20 pounds. Losing 40 pounds would take a LOT longer than 20 pounds (wayyy more than twice as long), and the thought of being on a diet for however many months was overwhelming, as all I could really focus on was the dinners and happy hours with my friends that I would be missing out on. But 20 pounds, well, even without the HCG drops I figured I could lose 20 pounds in two months, and two months isn’t that much of a sacrifice, especially during the winter.

Seven weeks later, I am 20 pounds lighter. I do wonder whether the drops were really that effective, because except for that first week when I lost like 8 pounds, my weight loss has been like 2 or 3 pounds a week, which isn’t all that remarkable. And I lost a cup size – 36C to 36B!! That was not supposed to happen!! Haha. But in general the diet did educate me on healthy eating and cooking, and I’m really glad I did it and would do it again in a heartbeat.

In fact, I AM doing it again, starting next week. But now that that I’ve lost the first 20 pounds, I don’t think I really need to lose another 20. If I did, I’d weigh less than 120, and I think that would be too skinny. For me. I like having some curves. My new goal is to lose another 10-12 pounds. And I don’t have the slightest bit of doubt that I will achieve it.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

