It WAS a date. Should I see him again?

So my meet up with my high school alum who contacted me on OkCupid WAS a date.  I had a good time, considering the night ended up turning into a bit of a disaster! We went to dinner at a Korean BBQ place. Yummy! It’s so nice to not have to prepare my own food! The conversation went well, and he was cute enough. He paid for dinner. I have to say that I was having a good time. Good enough that I felt like continuing on after dinner. So we went to a bar.

I don’t know if it was because I haven’t had any beer in 2 months, or because I lost weight, or because I was taking antibiotics and wasn’t supposed to drink (which I legitimately forgot about until the end of the night), or if it was a combination of all of those things, but I ended up getting *really* buzzed from only two beers. Okay, fine, I was drunk. Not a good look.

Twice at the bar he tried to pull me in for a kiss, but I wasn’t feeling it (him, the environment, whatever). But I was still enjoying my date with him. We left the bar around 9:30 and walked towards Times Square. That’s when the night started to unravel.

I was wearing this dress and as we were walking it kept riding up to my butt. It might sound minor, but it was SOOO annoying to have to keep pulling it down to make sure I wasn’t exposing my (tights-covered) ass to the world.

Then I got this foot cramp that I occasionally get. It’s like my toes get all dislocated or something. The pain is sudden and excruciating, and I have to kind of massage everything back into place. So we had to stop in the street for like 10 minutes until I was able to walk again. Embarrassing.

THEN I started getting stomach cramps. They came on suddenly and were incredibly intense. I didn’t know if it was the food, the alcohol, my period, or what. I almost doubled-over from the pain. At that point I told him I needed to go home. He was a good sport.

We did end up kissing, twice. Once during the walk and once before we said goodbye. The kisses were nice, but I don’t know if I felt a spark. But maybe that’s because I felt like puking! My whole train ride home all I could think about was getting home and throwing up. I had it all planned out – I would start getting undressed as I walked down the stairs so that I could head straight into the bathroom to puke and not get any on my dress. And that’s exactly what I did – the undressing part. But I never puked.

Finally I went into bed and curled up with my heating pad. He had told me to text him when I got home (major brownie points, since that is something Manchild NEVER did), so I did. We texted a bit until I passed out.

That was last Wednesday. On Thursday I woke up with my period. I took a shitload of Advil on Thursday, so I was feeling good enough to go to a happy hour with coworkers on Thursday night. This time I stuck to vodka and water, and even though I had FIVE drinks I was far less drunk than the night before. Weird.

So now I’m debating whether I should see him again. Even though I had a great time, considering, I really don’t know if I felt any spark. And then there was our text conversation over the next two days. He asked me when I wanted to hang out again. (Keep in mind this is on a Friday.)

Me: Let’s do something next week.
Him: Next week is so far away. But ok.
Me: Maybe I’ll feel like doing something this weekend, but I am so tired right now that the thought of going out exhausts me.
Him: I agree. Which is why we can just lay low at my place.
Me: Go to your house on our second date? What kind of girl do you think I am??
Him: We’ve known each other for 20 years. We’re not exactly strangers Rory.
Me: Not the point!
Him: Are you being serious?
Me: Are you? It’s not like we’ve been friends for 20 years. We’ve known OF each other for 20 years.
Him: I think you’re just getting a kick out of arguing. So I’m hesitant to indulge you in this conversation at all.

I didn’t reply. Truth is, I wasn’t THAT outraged by his invite, and I WAS getting a kick out of arguing. However, at the same time, my points were valid. I think it was a bit, I don’t know, presumptuous of him to think it was okay to invite me to his place so soon. So that we could do what, exactly? Watch a movie and fool around? Maybe he could get some play? And “next week” could have been Monday, not that far away at all. And, most importantly, we definitely were NOT friends in high school. His arguments were bullshit.

I didn’t text him at all over the weekend. On Monday he texted me. We chit chatted on Monday and Tuesday, but no mention was made of us hanging out. Based on the vibe of the conversation, I can tell that if I want to hang out with him again then it will be up to me to bring it up. I’m not sure if I want to.

Some of my friends think that he was just trying to offer up something to do since I had just said that I didn’t feel like going out. Others agree with me that it was wayyy to soon for him to suggest going to his place. However, they ALL think that if I was really into him, none of this would even be an issue.

What do you think?

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It WAS a date. Should I see him again?

  1. phattphudge says:

    I agree, the fact that you’re in this little debacle right now, debating whether or not to give things another go maybe suggests that you just aren’t that excited about him, and the fact that he invited you over to his place so soon, would just turn me right off. Not worth it…NEXT!!! Don’t settle for someone because they make themselves available. Wait for someone who makes you excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

