I’m going on an OkCupid date tonight…eek!

I am currently talking to 5 guys on OkCupid. (Slut! Haha.) Once again, I’m at the stage in the conversations where it’s time to meet. I have self-analyzed and determined that there are 2 reasons why I’m so scared to meet:

1 – I’m scared of rejection, and I’ve convinced myself that when I meet up with a guy he is going to be disappointed.

2 – I’m not good at rejecting people, and I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.

It’s mainly number 1, of course. So I’ve decided I need to get out of my own head and just be brave and meet these guys, regardless of what happens, just so I can grow a little.

Last night I decided that today, tonight, I am going to meet up with one of these guys. I had no idea which one, but I was fairly certain that at least 3 of the 5 would be willing to meet up with me whenever I decided.

One of the guys lives very close to me. He wanted to get a drink this past weekend, but I said no, I was busy, even though I wasn’t. I didn’t even leave my house. Then yesterday he messaged me to get a drink last night. I said no, I couldn’t, because I was going to pilates. That was true. So this morning I check my messages and he messaged me something about hanging out and then told me that he had updated his profile.

So I go read his profile, and it turns out that he went to my high school! This might not seem like a big deal, but there are hundreds of high schools in NYC and I went to one of only 5 specialized high schools, so it is a pretty crazy coincidence! I never knew him though – he is a year older than me. So based off that, I decided I would meet up with him tonight.

I am still nervous though. He looks cute in some of his pictures, but very artsy and hippy-ish in others, which probably means he’s not my type. But at least we’ll have something to fall back on in our conversation.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m going on an OkCupid date tonight…eek!

  1. Blonde Mambo says:

    Two words… Tailor Made… 😀

  2. jamierboyle says:

    Good luck! A co-worker of mine is on OKC and I love to hear about the stories of the people he meets and how the dates go. Keep us posted on how it goes

  3. Brooklyn says:

    Good luck and let us know how it goes! In other news my wedding dress no longer fits so I get to go figure that one out.. ha!

  4. I can only agree with jamierboyle, good luck and keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

