Spinach and feta turkey burger

On my first time around, I was very nervous to make the transition to the maintenance phase of the HCG diet. There were so many more foods to incorporate, and SO many more calories to eat. Fortunately I managed to get several recipes under my belt, so now I  can’t WAIT to get off the low calorie phase and START COOKING!

Spinach and Feta Turkey Burger – 355 calories

Ingredients for ONE patty:

4 oz. turkey (I’ve only tried 93% lean)
Handful of spinach
.5 egg
2 oz. feta cheese
1 clove garlic, chopped
Oregano, salt and pepper to taste

Even though I was on maintenance and had 1400 calories a day to play around with, when it came to meat I tended to follow the portion rules of the low calorie diet, meaning 4 ounces of meat per serving. Since those packages of turkey are 20 ounces, I portioned off two patties for the turkey burgers (one for dinner and one for the next day’s lunch) and put the rest in the freezer. Also, I used one egg for two patties.

1. Put a really low flame under a frying pan, then add a little bit of olive oil.

2. Mix ingredients into mixing bowl and form into patties. I used 2 ounces of feta because that’s “one serving” according to the package, but I think it could be cut down to 1 ounce and still be amazing. And then it would only be 285 calories per patty!

3. Put the patties into the pan.

4. I chose to cut up an onion and throw it in with the patties – obviously you can add whatever veg you want.

4. While everything was cooking I weighed and portioned the rest of the turkey.

5. Cook for about 20 minutes, then serve!

Oh man, it was so good! I can’t wait to be able to eat this again!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spinach and feta turkey burger

  1. jamierboyle says:

    I make spinach turkey burgers all the time. Although I use frozen spinach because it mixes better, but I haven’t tried it with the fresh. Would be interesting to see what the difference comes out as.

    • The majority, if not all, of the recipes I saw used frozen spinach. But I happened to have fresh in my fridge. The first time I made it I didn’t even cut the spinach! The result was that I had all these stems sticking out and as well as big pieces of spinach that were hard to stick in the patty. The second time I made it I pulled the stems off but didn’t cut the spinach. Next time I will chop the spinach up small and use less cheese, and I think it will be perfect.

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    For all my non red meat (not) eating peeps. Especially you Twin…..from Ms. “notchangingmyname”. Sounds YummY.

  3. asianbadass says:

    Adding frozen spinach might add some of the spinach moisture into the turkey mixture and making it a more moist patty. But usually pre-packaged frozen spinach has some salt or preservatives in it, so I’m always a bit wary. Those turkey burgers look amazingly tasty though! Hmm…and it’s almost time for lunch!

    • I think that cooking it with a really low flame helped to keep it moist. It probably would have been dry as hell if I’d used the 99% lean turkey.

      Mmmm, I can’t wait to make this again!

  4. silly_G says:

    These look great! Love feta. I just put ground turkey on my shopping list for today. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

