Mashed “potatoes”

Oh my god, I had the most AMAZINGGGGGGGG dinner last night. I finally got around to making the spinach and feta turkey burger, which was delish. But I made it with sauteed onions and a side of mashed “potatoes,” a.k.a. mashed cauliflower, and it took the meal to another level.

I first heard about mashed cauliflower as a substitute for mashed potatoes like 8 years ago, when I was doing the South Beach Diet. My one and only attempt at making it was a failure, since I didn’t blend it enough and I only mixed it with skim milk. Last night I decided to give it another try, and boy, I am so glad that I did! It was fantastic!

I followed several different recipes and made a few substitutions and ended up with the following ingredients:

4 cups cauliflower
2 wedges Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese spread
2 Tbs. heavy cream
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1 Tbs. butter
1 clove garlic
1/2 tsp. salt
Some pepper

I don’t know if I needed to use heavy cream, butter AND 2 types of cheeses! But I’m glad that I did, not only because it tasted so good but because going forward I can make modifications to make it less calories and I’ll have something to compare it to. The whole thing came out to 488 calories, but I divided it into three portions, so it was only 163 calories per serving. And really, I could have divided it into four portions, but my eyes were bigger than my stomach. Next time I’ll use half the amount of heavy cream and cheese, and I’ll probably use more garlic.

1. Steam cauliflower. I ended up steaming it for over 20 minutes, because I got distracted.

2. While the cauliflower was steaming I made two turkey burger patties and chopped up an onion.

3. Preheat over to 400.

4. In a small saucepan, melt the butter and saute the garlic.

5. Once it’s steamed, drain the cauliflower. Try to get rid of all the excess water. Throw all of the ingredients into a blender and puree.

6. Scoop into a pan and put it into the oven. (I saw this step in one of the recipes. It said to leave it in there until the top starts to brown, but after 5 minutes the rest of my food was ready and the top wasn’t brown, so I took it out.)

7. Serve and eat!

My whole meal came out to 505 calories, which is a lot. But even with this heavy meal I was still only at 1,100 calories for the day. And I went to the gym. So I didn’t feel too guilty.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mashed “potatoes”

  1. glutenvygirl says:

    Yum! This looks great. I am like you – made mashed cauli years ago and thought it was horrid. But I didn’t add any dairy whatsoever at the time – so I definitely need to try it again!

  2. jamierboyle says:

    It looks amazing! I’m definitely going to have to try this recipe out to see if The Beard will even notice.

    • Yes, do it without telling him it’s cauliflower and let me know what happens! Because as I was eating it I was thinking that unless someone knew in advance it was cauliflower they probably wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.

Leave a Reply

