Zucchini lasagna

I think this zucchini lasagna is one of the best things I’ve ever cooked in my entire life. I swear, you don’t even notice that there’s no pasta in it. The first time I made it was the end of February, the first time I finished the drops. The prep was a bit time consuming, but when it came out of the oven I knew it would be worth it. I brought it over to my mom’s so she could taste it too, and do you know that it was the first time in my life that I had ever brought something I had cooked over to someone’s house?

She loved it. At that time she wasn’t on a diet, but since then she also did the drops and lost 20 pounds. As soon as she finished the drops and went on maintenance she insisted we make it again. So we did, and it was just as good as I remembered.

Ingredients

3 zucchini
15 oz ricotta cheese
8 oz mozzarella cheese (fresh is best, but I prefer shredded in a bag, because it’s easier)
Spaghetti sauce (I make my own sauce so I know it’s low cal and sugar free)
2 cups chopped mushrooms
12 oz ground turkey
1/4 cups parmesan cheese
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

With these ingredients divided into 8 portions, each serving is only 258 calories!

1. Brown the turkey meat in a frying pan.

2. Peel zucchinis and slice lengthwise. I use my mandolin slicer.

3. Mix ricotta cheese with dried herbs, parmesan, salt and black pepper.

4. Layer the zucchini on the bottom of a baking dish. Smooth a layer of the ricotta mixture over the zucchini, then sprinkle with mushrooms, spaghetti sauce, and mozzarella. Repeat this procedure until you have filled the baking dish. I seem to run out of the ricotta mixture after three layers. Top with a layer of zucchini, spaghetti sauce and additional mozzarella cheese.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes or until mozzarella is brown and bubbly on top.

Enjoy!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zucchini lasagna

  1. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I’m Sicilian, among other things, and I am very serious about my traditional lasagna, but if you want to try an alternative to all that cheese, pasta and tons of different meat, try “notchangingmyname’s” zucchini lasagna. It is a very good recipe.

  2. Totally going to make this. Maybe this weekend.

  3. Shonnie says:

    This looks AMAZING!

  4. Profesor says:

    Looks nice. I may try this.

  5. Marianne says:

    I’ve to try this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

