The $50 pretext for a conversation

Even though I decided that it was “okay” for me to text H, I didn’t do it. I’m not big on chit chat, or asking a guy to hang out, or possibly getting rejected, and me texting him would have involved all three, and I didn’t want to deal with that. Particularly the rejection. I decided that if I was going to text him it would have to be for more than just to say “Heyyy.” I needed a reason.

So what did I do? I bought an ice cream maker.

That’s right, I bought an ice cream maker so that I could make Strawberry Coconut Milk ice cream and then text him that I had finally tried coconut milk. Ridiculous!

But it kind of worked out.

I’d been thinking about buying an ice cream maker for quite some time, but had kind of written it off as a frivolous, silly idea. But H and I had talked about coconut milk, and while I was googling coconut milk recipes I saw one for strawberry coconut milk ice cream. Suddenly I was all about buying an ice cream maker! I immediately went to Amazon and bought one, then spent the next few days figuring out a recipe.

I made the ice cream on Saturday, but by the time it was done it was almost 8, and I didn’t want to get into any possible booty call territory. So I texted him on Sunday afternoon:

Me: Hey you!
Me: I made strawberry coconut milk ice cream last night, it was so good!
Me: (I sent him a picture)
Him (immediately): Heyyyy..no invite..????
Me: Haha next time for sure
Him: Mmmhmm
Him: :-p
Me: πŸ™‚

For the next two minutes I was really scared that the conversation would die out, but then he asked me how my day was going, and we chit chatted a bit. I mentioned that I was in NJ, and he said “Oh nice, so you’re visiting me later? lol.” He had mentioned that he was going to be dropping his cousin off in Brooklyn, so I said “you should visit ME!” Which obviously was the wrong thing to say if I’m trying to avoid getting into a hook up situation, but I didn’t know what else to say! I told him I’d be home around 4, and he said he’d pass by if he were still in the area.

I was really uptight after that, thinking: Shit, why did I tell him to come over? I’m not looking to just hook up with someone, but if he comes over then that’s going to happen. But maybe we could go do something, go get some food or maybe go to the park, it’s so nice out! And what’s wrong with hooking up anyway? I am a grown ass woman and if I want to hook up, so what? Yeah but you know that once it’s done you’re going to be all messed up in the head again, wondering if it’s going anywhere and then getting depressed if it doesn’t. Okay, is there any way to avoid hooking up if he does come over? Could that work? Yeah right, you know as soon as you kiss him it’s on.

Fortunately I was able to get myself out of the situation. How? By taking my sweet ass time in NJ and then driving home slowwwwly. When he texted me later saying he was ready to head to my place and how long would it be until I got there, I told him I probably wouldn’t get there until 4:45. That might have been a slight exaggeration.

Him: Wow that’s awhile. Ima head home sweetie. Next time. Sorry.

This gave me the opportunity to say the one thing that I’d been wanting to say to him all along:

Me: No worries. Hit me up if you ever want to do something.
Him: Most def.

So now the ball is in his court. We’ll see if anything comes of it. But overall I’m feeling positive. And I have an AWESOME new ice cream maker!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The $50 pretext for a conversation

  1. andy1076 says:

    Win win! lol πŸ™‚ congrats on getting your ice cream maker, I am still debating whether to get one of these or a bread maker hum! πŸ˜€

  2. was fun reading this one. confusion leads us into difficult situations!

  3. cunning, calculated…and fun! awesome job prepping the battle field of relationships! πŸ™‚

  4. I looove coconut milk, it’s one of my top ingredients, that I always seem to be out of…I make rice with it all the time and put it in curries! SO good.

Leave a Reply

