The Meringue Project

I have been making meringue cookies about 3 times a week for the last month. I finally have the basic recipe down pat, but I still haven’t been able to figure out the correct timing for the texture I like, which is crunchy on the outside but a little soft on the inside, but not so soft that it feels like you’re eating uncooked eggs. The problem is that every time I make the recipe I do something different. Sometimes I add liquid Toffee Stevia, or I use almond extract instead of vanilla, or I make double the amount. Then I’ll wing it on the timing or the oven temperature. The result is that sometimes the cookies are undercooked, and sometimes they’re way too dry and flaky and I choke on the dust. And the times when the cookies have come out perfect, as they did in the picture below, it has mostly been by chance and I forget what I actually did.

So I’ve decided that every day for the next week I am going to make one batch of vanilla meringue cookies, and the only thing I’m going to change is the timing and temperature. More importantly, I’m going to actually keep track of the results!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

