Diet update

It has been almost 4 weeks since I stopped taking the HCG drops and started on the maintenance phase. At that point I weighed 134. In the 2 weeks that followed I made it down to 130.5. I was just starting to get to the point where people were saying “You look good, but don’t lose any more weight.”

And I didn’t.

I am still doing no sugar, pasta, bread etc., except for the occasional indulgence/drunken binge. You’ve got to enjoy life, right? I’m trying not to be too focused on the number on the scale. However, over the past 2 weeks I went from 130.5 to 135! Why? Well, I went out to dinner with a friend and ate the bread that was served, I pigged out on food, dessert and alcohol at my company’s end of tax season party, and then on Friday I went out with friends and in addition to the 5 or 6 vodka and club sodas that I drank, I munched on bar food and then had a slice of Hawaiian pizza dipped in blue cheese at 2 in the morning! Plus I’m about to get my period. I can totally see the weight gain in my bloated belly; it’s almost rock hard. The last 2 days I’ve been a lot stricter with my diet, and at the moment I’m back down to 133.5. I’ll feel more relaxed when I’m back to 132.

I’m still working out 4 times a week. I do the arc trainer for 30 minutes and then the machines for 10-15 minutes. However, yesterday I had a free private training session at my gym, and it totally kicked my ass! It was wayyyy more intense and exhausting than any workout I’ve had in the past, I don’t know, EVER! I know I need to step up the intensity of my workout and switch things up a bit, but I can’t bring myself to pay $50 for a personal training session. One session! So, I’m going to do my best to remember the workout I did with the trainer and try to do it without her. We’ll see what happens.

Here are some updated photos:

March 30, 2012. This was taken the night I met up with J ("Send me a pic") from OkCupid.

April 17, 2012. After tax season party. I was SHOCKED by how thin I looked in this pic. And pleased.

Same night. My work besties. What a lovely group!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Exercise, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Diet update

  1. Nowan Zen says:

    Just my perspective, but you look incredible. Then again, that’s just one guy’s opinion.

  2. emarie24 says:

    You look so much like my sister, it’s crazy! Anyway, you should look at CrossFit. It can be a bit pricey, but it’s basically like having a personal trainer and it’s really awesome. It can be a bit intimidating to start going, but once you’re in, it’s great. And you look great, by the way!

  3. asianbadass says:

    You look fantastic! The gym that I go to has small group workouts and usually they cost a lot less. You don’t get as much individual attention, but it’s still better than being in a large class like Zumba or Kickboxing where you don’t get ANY individual time. Not to say that those classes aren’t great, but if you want something more personalized, that may be a way to go. It’s also great way to get a network of gym buddies. You really do look gorgeous! Hope you keep having fun with it!

    • I’m going to start by going to the regular classes first. I think that would be enough of an increase in my workout to get me to another level, and then if I plateau after that I’d go to the smaller group classes.

      Thanks a lot! Now that summer is coming up I plan to have a lot of fun!

  4. jamierboyle says:

    Seriously, you look great! And I’m in total hair envy of you right now.

  5. Tony Bird says:

    I recommend is the 100 day burpee challenge. (If you don’t know what a burpee is, I dropped the code to embed a video below. I hope it plays!) The rules of the challenge are that you add one additional burpee to your set each day. Day one, you do one burpee, day two, you do two burpees . . . all the way to day 100, when you’ll be doing 100 burpees.
    I did this a part of my squadron’s PT program a while back. On day 50, we had a PT session with the Marine Corps Semper Fit crew, and they were dying by the time they finished their 50, but the burpees were just a warmup for us. Most of us were in really great shape when we were doing the challenge: the skinny people (me) bulked up, and the heavy people slimmed down.

    • Tony Bird says:

      Looks like the video got cut out. Here’s a link to it.

    • I can’t imagine literally just doing one and that’s it. But I like the idea and I think I will start…hmm, I was going to say this weekend, but since it’s only one burpee I might as do it now.

      Okay, I just did it. One day down, 99 to go! (And actually, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, since I’m still super sore from the trainer.)

Leave a Reply

