Almost sugar-free chocolate hazelnut banana pie, part two – Vegan Nutella

(Read Part One HERE.)

I woke up at 8:30 on Mother’s Day so I would have enough time to make the Vegan Nutella AND the Chocolate Hazelnut Banana pie. The first thing I had to do was grind up the hazelnuts. I REALLY need to buy a food processor. I’ve been putting it off because they’re so expensive, but for this recipe it really would have come in handy. According to the original recipe, the entire process would only have taken 5 minutes with a food processor. It took me like an hour! I used my coffee grinder to grind the hazelnuts, but since it’s so small and there were so many nuts, I had to grind 5 or 6 batches before all the nuts were done. And then I still had to mix them with the rest of the ingredients.

Nonetheless, it was still pretty cool to see the nuts change in consistency from solid to dust and then almost turn creamy as the natural oil came out (at least, I assume that’s what was happening). I suppose if I had kept going I would have ended up with full on peanut hazelnut butter. Maybe that’s what I was supposed to do. But I stopped grinding and put the ground nuts into a mixing bowl, and then added the rest of the ingredients.

Sugar-free, Vegan Nutella

Ingredients

2 cups roasted hazelnuts
2/3 cups lite coconut milk
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3 Tbs. Truvia
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1.5 tsp vanilla extract

(Assuming you DON’T have a food processor…)

Grind the nuts, then add all of the ingredients to a mixing bowl and mix by hand.

The original recipe called for 1/3 cup of coconut milk, but it was wayyy too thick so I had to add more. I’m guessing it’s because I used Truvia for the sweetener instead of agave. I initially tried to use my electric beaters to mix it all up, but the mixture was so thick that the beaters got stuck and wouldn’t spin. So I added more coconut milk and used a wooden spoon to mix everything together.

Mmmm! When all was said and done, it tasted pretty damn good! But I would have liked a creamier consistency. This was kind of grainy. I think a true Nutella texture might only be possible with a food processor though.

Note: While it may be sugar free, this is NOT a low calorie recipe. The entire recipe has over 1,600 calories. After putting aside what I needed for the pie, I split what was left into two 1/2-cup servings, with the intention with of only eating 1/4 cup each day. That would come out to 260 calories per serving, which I consider acceptable for a dessert.

But of course that didn’t happen. I brought a half cup to work, and around 4:30 I sliced up a banana and spread each slice with the Nutella, just 1/4 cup, as intended. It was soooo good. My mistake was not putting the remaining Nutella back in the fridge right away. About 5 minutes (okay, two minutes) after I ate the bananas, I finished off the remaining 1/4 cup of the Nutella on its own, with a spoon. Then I used my finger to scrape the sides of the tupperware to make sure I got every last bit of Nutella. And then I licked the rim of the tupperware. Sigh…what can I say? Sometimes I’m a beast. I’m totally blaming pms.

To be continued! (Read Part Three)

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, Dieting, Food, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almost sugar-free chocolate hazelnut banana pie, part two – Vegan Nutella

  1. Yummmm!! Already got the coffee brewing! Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

