Almost sugar-free chocolate hazelnut banana pie, part three – finally, the pie!

 

(Read Part 2 HERE)

Though it was a lot more difficult than expected, I had FINALLY reach the point where I was able to make the pie. I was mildly stressed out, because everything was taking longer than I had planned, and now I only had 2 hours before my mom and I were leaving for my cousin’s – and the pie was supposed to set in the refrigerator for 3 hours. I wasn’t pulling my hair out or anything, just feeling anxious.

It wasn’t until I started putting down the layer of banana slices that I was able to take a breath, relax, and start enjoying myself. After all, I was making a pudding pie, something I haven’t done since I was a child. It’s supposed to be fun!

Famous last words, right?

THAT is what happened after I finished putting down the bananas. My countertop was a crowded mess, my hand got caught on the cord of my electric beaters, and everything came crashing down onto the floor. I just stood there for a few moments in disbelief, then laughed and kept going. I didn’t have time to stop what I was doing and clean up, so when you get to Step 2 below and you’re imagining me in my kitchen making this stupid pie, don’t forget to visualize me in sticky bare feet trying not to slip in the coconut milk!

Ingredients (if you slice the pie into 10 slices, each slice is only about 250 calories)

2 squares unsweetened baker’s chocolate, melted
2 tsp Truvia
2 cups sugar-free Cool Whip
1 pie crust
1 sliced banana
2 packages sugar-free instant pudding, chocolate flavored
1.5 cups 2% milk
1/2 cup Vegan Nutella

1. Whisk chocolate, Truvia and 1 cup of Cool Whip until well blended. Spread it onto the bottom of the pie crust and then top with banana slices.

2. Add the dry pudding mix, milk and Nutella to a mixing bowl and beat for 2 min. Stir in the remaining Cool Whip. Pour the mixture over the bananas. Done!

I put the pie in the fridge right away, put it in a cooler for the car ride to NJ, and then as soon as I got to my cousin’s house I put it in her fridge. When it was time for dessert I spread Cool Whip on top and sprinkled some chopped hazelnuts I had put aside.

The pie was a hit! I mean really, how can you go wrong with chocolate pudding, and bananas, and hazelnuts?

If I were to make this pie again, I would skip the Nutella and mix the ground-up hazelnuts directly in with the pudding mix. Or I might cheat and just use hazelnut-flavored liquid Stevia. The hazelnut flavor in the pie was almost overshadowed by the bananas and definitely wasn’t strong enough to warrant all that extra work. Nonetheless, I’m really glad I made the Nutella and now have “experience” cooking with hazelnuts.

All in all, despite my many blunders, I consider this pie to be a success.

………………………………………………

Changes from the original recipe:

1. For the bottom layer you’re supposed to mix 1/2 cup of Cool Whip with semi-sweet chocolate, but I used unsweetened chocolate and added Truvia, and added an extra half cup of Cool Whip to add a little moisture.

2. I used a graham cracker crust instead of an Oreo crust.

3. I thought I had vanilla pudding in my cupboard, but I didn’t, so I used chocolate fudge flavor. I’m sooo glad I didn’t buy the Oreo pie crust, because the pie would have been WAY too chocolatey.

4. After I mixed everything together I added an extra half cup of milk, because I still felt it was too dry. Probably because of the Vegan Nutella.

5. The original recipe said to garnish with nuts and chocolate, but since I had made the mistake with the chocolate pudding I skipped the extra chocolate.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost sugar-free chocolate hazelnut banana pie, part three – finally, the pie!

  1. Linus says:

    looks good! I think the graham cracker crust was a good call too. Ever give any thought to making a rhubarb (or strawberry rhubarb) pie??

    • Haha not until you suggested it just now! I had to google rhubarb because I wasn’t positive if I knew what it looked like (I did).

      Thank you, it was delicious.

      • Linus says:

        Rhubarb pies are delicious, but we also used to melt it down in a pot on the stove and pour it over homemade vanilla ice cream…the sourness of the rhubarb mixed with the sweetness of the ice cream was heaven!

        Keep up the good work (both cooking & writing).

  2. Nowan Zen says:

    I tried to warn you not to let me in your kitchen, and see…….I made a mess!
    😛
    It’s a guy thing.

  3. ellyvegas1 says:

    This sounds heavenly! I actually just made banana pie too and I soo wish I saw this earlier! The addition of Nutella sounds amazing, though I think I will stay away from making my own for now lol 🙂

    • It was so good with the Nutella, but honestly, the other night I made some instant chocolate pudding, added a sliced banana and stirred in a handful of whole hazelnuts, and it was nearly as good as the pie. And it only took me 5 minutes, not several hours, to make it!

Leave a Reply

