If I’m going to have a “lifestyle” blog, I need to get a life.

The other day over lunch, one of my friends articulated something that has been on my mind for awhile. She said: “You need to start going on OkCupid dates again. I’m tired of all these recipes on your blog.”

This blog was never meant to be a “food blog.” I don’t know what I intended it to be, but since I had no interest in cooking when I started it, a food blog was the furthest thing from my mind. I guess I was aiming more for a lifestyle blog – or, a blog about MY life. Really, I was just looking for a creative outlet and a place to start writing again.

But then I decided I wanted to lose weight (for realz this time), and I started the HCG diet. For the past 5 months my life has mostly revolved around my diet – first losing the weight, and now trying to keep it off. And so naturally that’s the direction my blog took. In fact, I think that a large part of the reason I was so successful with my diet is that I was blogging about it. It kind of kept me from cheating, held me accountable, etc. (I know this is true, because ever since I finished the drops and stopped writing about my diet and my weight I have gained back a few pounds. But more on that in a future post.) An unexpected byproduct of the diet was a new-found love of cooking.

As far as dating goes…ugh. After a string of bad experiences with guys – who could forget the dick pic? – and then having my hopes of reuniting with John dashed, again, I have ZERO interest in dating right now. Especially online dating. The thought of skipping the gym and spending an hour or two getting ready just to meet yet another dud from OkCupid doesn’t appeal to me AT ALL. Weird, right? I’d much rather spend that time googling recipes and then cooking them.

But with that said, in my down time (like, when my recipe is finally in the oven and I’m sitting on the couch waiting for it to cook and I’m actually thinking about things), I do feel, I don’t know, sad, lonely, bored, depressed, unfulfilled. Like “ugh, is this all there is to my life?” There’s no real reason for me to feel this way. I’m looking fab, I’ve got great friends and family, and my stress-level is at an all-time low. But something is still missing…and that something probably has a penis. I really don’t know what the solution is, but I do know that I’m not going to meet anyone if I’m home alone. Obviously I need to do things that will get me out of my apartment.

To be continued…

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, Dating, Dieting, HCG, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If I’m going to have a “lifestyle” blog, I need to get a life.

  1. Tony Bird says:

    Yeah! Take up some unusual hobbies! If you get into a hobby group, not only will you learn something new, but you’ll probably get a chance to meet men who have stuff in common with you, and there won’t be the usual dating pressure because you’ll be focused on doing something you love. Dance classes, martial arts, or learning to play a new instrument are all good ideas, but you could also go for something really weird, like slingshot hunting or fire eating.

    • True! I do have a LivingSocial voucher for a month of unlimited salsa classes that I need to use soon. That will be fun even if I don’t meet anyone.

      Fire eating? I’ll avoid that danger, thank you very much! haha

  2. Keith P says:

    Though I’m in a slightly different ‘rut’ than you are… I live in a new town and know no one here. Like the guy above me says, take up some new hobbies (perhaps take a cooking class)… the best time to meet someone would be when you’re not really looking… and then, even if you don’t meet someone, you’ll have expanded yourself as a person. It is a win-win.

  3. emarie24 says:

    I feel the same. 100%. I’m still out meeting people I guess (kind of… not really) but I’m so over it. But I miss the thing attached to a penis too.

Leave a comment