Summer of Culture

While we were sightseeing in Puerto Rico last November, my friend and I decided that we would start going to museums once our busy season at work was over in May (Me: “I want to start going to museums and stuff.” Her: “Me too!”). In the months leading up to May, “going to museums” turned into going to a different museum or doing something cultural EVERY WEEKEND.

And thus was our “Summer of Culture” born (a much better title than “Summer of Doing Shit,” don’t you think?). New York City has so much to offer that we never take advantage of, but this year we will. And if we happen to meet guys while doing it, all the better! It took a few weekends before we actually followed through with our plans, but the Summer of Culture finally kicked off last Saturday. Story to come.

Sigh…I love this city.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer of Culture

  1. The Lady Boyle says:

    I can’t wait to see what you post! I try and tried to do the same thing here, but Cincinnati is not near as exciting with the offerings that New York City has.

    • Yeah NYC is definitely on a different level. I googled it and there are more than 80 museums in the City!! I’m thinking that for blogging purposes I should make an attempt to go to ALL of them. Although some of them, like the Museum of Finance, sound soooo boring! lol

  2. Seb says:

    heh. To quote the late great Buck Owens, “I wouldn’t live in New York City of they gave me the whole dang town”. I abhor the place. Possibly my Baltimorean chip on the shoulder….

  3. Seb says:

    No, wait – I didn’t finish. I don’t believe there us actually much in the way of culture in New York, there’s a lot of tributes to failed cultured there and a lot of artifices to people who have made money out of defining culture, but if we define culture as the activities of a peoples in furtherance of their own self realization, what does new York City actually offer? The city is so self-referential it can only tell us something about it’s own narcissism and nothing about us as wider Americans.

    • Haha I really didn’t think my use of the word “culture” would be controversial. I am not going to attempt to dislodge the chip on your shoulder. When I say culture, I am talking about broadening my horizons in terms of art, music, theater, food, etc. – all of which NY has in spades.

Leave a Reply

