My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 1

I had SUCH a great weekend. A lot of food, booze, and dancing.

On Friday I got out of work at 2. My friends and I went to Rio Grande, which is the place that makes the really strong frozen margaritas. Since the last time I went there I ended up having to make my cabbie pull over on my way home so I could puke, this time I had piña coladas instead, which were nowhere near as strong. I can’t even remember the last time I had a piña colada. They were sooo delish! It would definitely be my new-old summer drink if I wasn’t back on my diet.

After a few drinks one of my friends and I went shopping. Shopping when you’re buzzed is fun! Normally when I shop I get tired and annoyed pretty quickly, but not this time. Of course, it helped that I didn’t try anything on, and that everything I bought was on sale. I bought sandals from Old Navy and Payless, a necklace and cardigan from Old Navy, and a shirt, a skirt and a dress from H&M. It was such a successful shopping trip. Since I knew I’d be starting my diet on Tuesday, I decided that I was going to have a loading/binge weekend and eat whatever I wanted. So for dinner we went to a Chinese restaurant and I had a huge plate of chicken mei fun. Yummy.

On Saturday I went to the beach. It was my first time putting on a bikini since last year, and of course I was disappointed, since I’ve gained weight back and have a gut. Plus I was bloated from pms AND the chinese food. Whatever, at that point it was too late to worry about what I looked like. And even though I felt gross, I knew I still looked better than last year, so that was something. I picked up my one friend and we headed to Long Beach. We were supposed to meet up with our other friend, who was there with her friends, but by the time they got to the beach we had already put down our stuff and were sunbathing, and they were a few blocks away.

The beach was amazing, but it was one of those days where it’s really sunny but you don’t feel that hot because it’s also windy. So I ended up getting a sunburn. After 3 or 4 hours the sky turned gray and cloudy, so we decided to pack it up and go find our friend before it started to rain. We hung out with her for a little bit before heading home.

Oh, I almost forgot the most important part. Well, maybe not the most important, but most relevant to what happened later in the evening. I had signed up for HowAboutWe.com awhile back, but nothing ever came of it because it’s a pay dating site and I’m not paying. But every week I get an email from them, I guess it’s from their dating blog or whatever, and it has a bunch of different dating articles that are REALLY interesting, funny, and well written. Seriously, I would recommend signing up with them just for that email.

The one article that stood out to me this week was titled The Ridiculously Simple Flirting Move For Shy Girls. You should read it, but in summary, the “move” is: maintain eye contact and smile. Sounds really easy, right? Well, it’s not. I am the queen of making eye contact with guys (on the street, train, in a bar, wherever), but when it comes to smiling and looking friendly, like I actually want them to approach me, I can’t bring myself to make that step. I get too shy/nervous/afraid of rejection. So the result is that me making eye contact usually looks like I’m giving a dirty look. It doesn’t help that I’m usually not wearing my glasses, so my squinting is mistaken for glaring. I can’t even count how many times I’ve been told I have a bitch face.

After reading the article I decided that I was going to make it my mission to “do the move.” I told my friend about it, and she agreed that I should do it. All afternoon we were debating whether or not to go out that night, because it looked like it was going to rain and we were tired and now sunburned as well, but every time we’d settle on NOT going, I’d be like “Oh wait, I have to do the move tonight, remember?” So, after the beach I dropped her off, went home, ate dinner, and then got ready to go out.

To be continued.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Dieting, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 1

  1. Seb says:

    I think that ridiculously simple flirting move sounds like a low value bet in most circumstances – it just sends so many potentially contradictory signals. It strikes me as the kind of gesture that a nude face eating cannibal might try just before things get seriously out of hand.

Leave a Reply

