My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 2

(Read Part 1 HERE)

It took me forever to figure out what I was going to wear on Saturday night, but in the end I ended up wearing the first outfit I had tried on. Figures. I was cute but casual – H&M dress, gold Old Navy flats, and this yellow necklace that I got at Old Navy but isn’t on their website. All of it purchased during my buzzed shopping trip the evening before. I felt pretty confident in this outfit, so I will probably wear it a lot this summer.

By the time we got into the city it was around 10 pm. First we headed to the Upper East Side. When we were there the weekend before it had been a lively scene, but on Saturday night it was dead. Everyone was away for the holiday weekend, I guess. We walked along Second Avenue for maybe 10 minutes, then decided we needed to go somewhere else ASAP. We were going to head over to Hell’s Kitchen, but on our way downtown (I was driving) we decided to check out the Turtle Bay area, since we were literally right there and parking would probably be easier.

What a great decision! We ended up at this bar called Sutton Place. It has two floors and then a rooftop area, and great music. And there were a TON of really cute guys. We were surprised, actually, by how many good looking guys there were. And there were way more guys than girls. We will definitely be going back there.

We headed to the rooftop first. It was kind of humid, but it was so nice to be outside. I’m really happy that the warm weather has arrived! After we grabbed a drink we started surveying the scene. I swear, we must have looked like such creepers, because we were totally on the prowl! Haha. There were two guys who caught my eye. One was a little taller than me, looked Hispanic or Mediterranean, very cute, fit, etc., who was there with a guy and a girl. The other guy was very tall, fit, black, and extremely good looking. He was with a few other guys. I saw both of them checking me out several times, so I knew they were interested. Both of them were perfect candidates for me to try “the Move.” If only I could muster up the nerve.

Spanish Guy was more on my radar, because he happened to be a lot closer to where I was standing. We made a lot of eye contact, but I couldn’t bring myself to actually smile at him. I know, I’m a punk! Then my friend accidentally hit a Marine as he was walking by (it was Fleet Week, so there were a ton of men in uniform all over NYC that weekend), and he started talking to us, and then his friends came over to join the conversation, and by the time I thought to look for Spanish Guy I saw him heading downstairs!

As nice as they were to talk to, the Marine and his friends were not that cute, so after another 5 or 10 minutes we excused ourselves to go to the bathroom, which was on the second floor. While I was waiting for the bathroom I spotted Spanish Guy. It was so nice to be in an air-conditioned room that after the bathroom we decided to stay inside for awhile. Plus, the music was louder and better. Spanish Guy and I made eye contact again as we passed by him on our way to the bar, but nothing more. It took us forever to get a drink, and by the time we got back to the dance area, he was gone.

After a while we went down to the first floor, just to see what was going on there, and of course Spanish Guy was down there. I commented to my friend that he was probably thinking “Damn this bitch is stalking me!” We only stayed downstairs for a few minutes, then went back up to the roof. At that point the hot black guy was also down on the first floor, and we made eye contact again for a few seconds before I walked up the stairs.

We were on the roof for about 10 minutes when Spanish Guy and his friends made their way back up. But they didn’t stay long. After only 5 minutes they left. When I saw Spanish Guy leaving my heart sunk, because I could just tell that they were leaving for the night. I immediately regretted that I hadn’t tried the Move on him. All I had to do was smile! I know it would have worked, and now I’ll never see that guy again. I had totally missed my opportunity. That feeling just made me more determined than ever to try the Move that night.

Eventually I had to go to the bathroom again. The rooftop was packed, so it was slow going as my friend and I squeezed through the crowd to get to the stairs. And then it happened. Out of nowhere, the opportunity to do the Move presented itself! As we were getting closer to the stairs I saw that the hot black guy had just come back upstairs, and in less than 10 seconds I would  be passing right by him.

This time I refused to hesitate or second guess myself. It was like it was happening in slow motion. We were face to face as I slowly squeezed by him, both of us staring intently at each other. And then, as I looked into his eyes, I smiled.

To be continued…

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Clothing, Dating, Fashion, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 2

  1. Loretta Nguyen says:

    super cute dress!

    http://solipsismdreams.wordpress.com/

    Keep up the great work, love love love your blog, Loretta xx

Leave a Reply

