My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 3

(Click to read Part One or Part Two)

It felt like it lasted forever, but in reality my “stare and smile” at the hot black guy (HBG) lasted at most 2 seconds. Then I was past him and on my way downstairs to the bathroom.

“I did it! I did the Move!” I said to my friend when we got downstairs. “You did?!? Really?!?” she said. You’d think I had found a cure for cancer, the way we were carrying on.

As much time as I’d spent thinking about doing the Move, I’d barely given a thought as to what would happen after it was done. And even when it was over, I still didn’t have any thoughts like “Now what? Is he going to approach me?” The point had been to actually DO the Move, and I had accomplished that. Whether or not it worked, well, it didn’t even matter.

But….drumroll please…the Move worked! It took less than 5 minutes from the time when we got back up to the rooftop for HBG and his two friends to approach us. To be honest I don’t even remember how the conversation started. I just remember looking to my left, seeing him and his friends standing next to us, and then we were all talking.

And then the night took a completely random turn. After a few minutes, a girl (Eve) joined our conversation. She was there with HBG and his friends – one of them was her boyfriend. I was a little reserved at first, as I usually am when I’m around a female I don’t know. However, I loosened up quickly, because she was super cool and friendly. In fact, they were all super cool and friendly. IN FACT, they were all SO super cool and friendly that we ended up becoming besties for the night! We hung out with them on the rooftop until it closed around 2, then went downstairs and danced until the place closed at 4 am. It was so much fun.

As for HBG, well, I could have made something happen if I’d wanted to, but I lost interest when I learned that he has a girlfriend. Besides, I was wayyy more interested in the new-found friendship that seemed to be developing among us all.

They tried to convince us to hang out afterwards, but it was late and I was supposed to go to NJ the following morning to visit my grandmother. We exchanged numbers and Facebooked each other, gushed about how happy we were that we had met, and then called it a night.

I did NOT end up making it to NJ on Sunday. By the time I got to bed it was after 6, and when my alarm went off two hours later I was still drunk. I spent most of the day on the couch. (Actually, I spent a large part of the day writing about my first Summer of Culture weekend – and then lost the whole thing when I went to save it. So. Fucking. Annoying.) I woke up from a nap at around 8 pm, feeling refreshed and then depressed because I had nothing to do.

Almost on cue, my friend called to tell me that Eve had texted her asking if we wanted to come over and chill at her place. Did I? Of course I did! I got dressed and met up with them at Eve’s place in the city. It was the same crew as the night before (including HBG, who I spent quite a bit of time with that night, on a friendship level. He’s really nice. And funny. And gorgeous.). We had a few drinks at her place, then headed down to this bar in the East Village where we – once again – danced all night. Eve’s roommate (one of the guys – not HBG and not her boyfriend) is a chef, so when we got back to Eve’s he cooked us some dinner. I got home around 5 am. That afternoon I met up with my friend for lunch at this AMAZING Greek restaurant near my house, and we recapped everything that had happened that weekend.

So, for anyone who’s thinking about doing the Move, I highly recommend it. Not only did it work, but it resulted in much more than I could ever have expected – a whole bunch of new friends and the best Memorial Day weekend I’ve ever had.

The end.

(P.S. – I promise that I will never take this long to tell a story again!)

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My amazing Memorial Day weekend – Part 3

  1. Tony Bird says:

    I’m really happy for you! (I’ve had too many martinis tonight to write a more intelligible reply.)

    • Haha thanks and cheers!

      And I’m really confused. Where the hell are you?

      • Tony Bird says:

        Physically, I’m in Okinawa, Japan. But if you’re asking why I haven’t been blogging much lately, it’s because I’ve been participating in Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I’m trying to crank out 50,000 words by the end of June, so that’s taken up most of my writing time.

  2. Jeni Johnson says:

    Your long story broken up in three parts kept us waiting to hear more. The Move is awesome!

  3. You’re so brave. I don’t think I could do “the move”.

  4. Seb says:

    “the Move” probably works because guys have a lower threshold of IMS (Inherent Move Skepticism), which means that 97% of the time a smile and stare elicits a mental “oh yeah” whereas with women, 65% of the time it elicits a metal note to “avoid creepy dude”. That’s because women are generally smarter than men 🙂

Leave a Reply

