New layout. FINALLY.

It took me more than two months, but I finally have a new layout up. Yes, *this* took me two months.

Why did it take so long? Well, like I said in another post awhile back, before I could make any changes to my layout I had to teach myself CSS. While the basics were easy for me to understand, trying to figure out how everything related to the style sheet of my WordPress theme was a pain in the ass. There are so many different components that go into the code! In the beginning it was mostly trial and error – change the code, preview it, see if anything looked different, and then make a memo in a word file so I wouldn’t forget it. But now I’m at the point tell what a style sheet is “saying” just by reading it…well, my style sheet, anyway.

I also had to design a header and buttons, and pick out colors and fonts (I’m still not done with the fonts yet). The header that’s up there now is completely different than the one I spent weeks working on. And the buttons, those tiny little buttons to the right, they took like a week! I spent two days working on an instagram button, but it never looked right. Then one morning I did a new google search, found a button that inspired me, and within 20 minutes I had created the button that’s there now.

So there was a lot time spent on things that didn’t even pan out. But I don’t consider it a waste. All in all it was a lot of fun. I haven’t been in school in ages, so it’s a sad but true fact that I haven’t studied or even really learned anything in awhile (other than life lessons lol). But now I’m somewhat knowledgeable about CSS. And my Photoshop skills are almost right back where they used to be.

I try really hard not to live with regret, but I can’t help but get a little sad when I think about where my skill level – and my career and my life in general – would be if I hadn’t taken a 10-year break from blogging and web design. Sigh…there are so many things I wish I’d done differently. But I can’t change the past. All I can do is try to learn from it and not make the same mistakes again. And all things considered I’m pretty content with my life right now. Who knows? Just because things would be different doesn’t mean they’d be better.

Anyway, new layout. It still needs a bit of tweaking but overall I’m done. Now I can get back to writing – which is the whole point of this, right? Right.

 

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Design, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New layout. FINALLY.

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    CSS A+ for patience. I’d fail. 😉

  2. Tony Bird says:

    It all looks great!

  3. Yeah I really like the change, it looks awesome 🙂

  4. asianbadass says:

    The blog looks great! Trust me when I say that sometimes taking the long way pays off. I think you’re probably more receptive to the learning now that you maybe weren’t before. It doesn’t change the fact that you improved regardless of the time it took.

    • Thank you! I’m definitely more receptive to learning at this point, since it’s a topic I’m actually interested in, and I’m not distracted by “having fun” the way I was when I was 20.

Leave a Reply

