Exposed – Part One

Two Sundays ago I went on a date with a guy from OkCupid. Something happened on my date with “Joey” that had my mind in a tizzy.

I’d only been talking to Joey for a few days before we met up. Five days, to be exact. I thought he was cute, and based on his profile he seemed funny and pretty normal. So when he messaged me, I responded. By the next day we had exchanged numbers and were texting back and forth. I don’t normally do that so quickly, but when he asked me for my number I figured what the hell, let’s try something different (although that’s where I drew the line. When he asked for a phone conversation I told him no. Not my style.).

On Friday before we met I gave him my Yahoo email address, because he wanted to send me something he thought I would like (and no, it was not another dick pic, haha. He sent me an mp3 file). Since the first thing that I do when I find out a guy’s last name or email address is look him up on Facebook, I assumed he was going to do the same thing to me. But I didn’t really care, because my Facebook is private and I’d be getting his info in return.

How stupid of me not to realize that there are other ways to stalk screen a potential date besides Facebook! On Sunday morning I was looking at my blog stats and noticed that someone had gotten to my blog by googling my Yahoo ID. It had to be Joey.

My feelings were…mixed. I have always assumed that I would tell a guy about my current blog only if I liked him and planned to keep dating him. And knowing me, I would probably stress out about it like crazy beforehand and turn it into a much bigger deal than it actually is. So I was kind of happy that he had found it, since it saved me the trouble of having to reveal it. On the other hand, I wasn’t entirely comfortable with him knowing details of my personal/sex life before we’d even met. I debated whether or not to bring it up on our date though.

Fast forward to later that night. Our date started out as a comedy of errors. We had decided to get dinner at Bareburger. There are two locations in my area, and I picked the one closer to me. After I parked my car I texted him to see where he was, and he said that he had just gotten a table, and he’d come meet me out front. But when I got in front he was nowhere to be seen! Now I’m standing in front of Bareburger practically eye-raping every guy who comes near me, trying to figure out if it’s him, thinking either “Please be him!!” or “Oh God, no, please don’t be him!!!” Meanwhile he’s texting me “Where are you?” I called him, and it turned out that he was at the other Bareburger (bet you didn’t see that coming!). Doh!

Since I’m from the area and he isn’t, I told him I’d go to him, just text me the address. So what did he do? He sent me to an address that didn’t exist! After driving in circles and making several u-turns, I finally pulled over and googled it. After I drove there it took me another 15 minutes to find parking!

But I wasn’t annoyed. I found the whole situation to be really funny. And the mishaps were kind of a blessing, because by the time we met up my pre-date jitters were longgggg gone.

 

To be continued.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exposed – Part One

  1. datingbitch says:

    You have been tagged. Check out my link below for details.
    http://onlinedatingjournal.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/youre-it/

  2. Bob Othman says:

    Love the story…and TBC is when?

  3. B. says:

    It makes me uncomfortable letting people I’m currently dating see my blog let alone someone who I hadn’t met before!

    I started dating someone about a month ago and I did something I don’t normally do by letting him see my blog after our first date (to be fair, we weren’t complete strangers before our first date – we’ve known each other for a while). But I still had to do some light housekeeping out of paranoia. The day I gave him the link, my stats spiked to insane highs – which made me glad I did a thorough clean-up before he came through. He didn’t miss a thing.

    Though part of me wonders if I should have just left it as is…

    Can’t wait to hear the rest!

    • Haha I remember doing major editing when I started dating my husband. I guess it’s a natural inclination. But I won’t ever do that again. This is who I am, accept it or keep it moving.

      Now, two weeks later, I see the Joey finding my blog was so NOT a big deal. So I think in the future I’ll be a little less hesitant about showing it to others. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

