My first attempt at an ombre manicure

After keeping a tea bag wrap on my finger for over a month (I changed it weekly), my nail had grown long enough that I was finally able to take it off. I removed it, then trimmed and filed the rest of my nails to make everything even.

So what happens? Within a day I broke ANOTHER nail. This time the middle finger of the opposite hand. Which meant applying another wrap. So annoying.

Once I had my wrap on, I decided to do something I’d been wanting to try for awhile: the Ombre manicure. I figured I should do it while my nails were still long, because at the rate I was getting chips and tears, they might not be long for that much longer!

The first thing I had to do was pick out my colors. Awhile back my friend had sent me THIS link, and since I really liked the colors I decided to try something similar. I went with pink and peach.

I had already bought a sponge a few weeks before (back when my friend had sent me that link, actually).

Next I painted my nails with the peach basecoat. I must say I was not especially pleased with the formula. I applied THREE coats and it was still kind of transparent.

Next I cut off a little piece of the sponge. I figured the smaller the piece, the less of a mess I would make around my cuticles.

Then I applied both of the nail polishes to the sponge. At this point I realized that I should have bought a white sponge.

It took me awhile to figure out the best technique. Basically I blotted and smushed the sponge around on a piece of paper, then dabbed it up and down on my nail until it was ombre. If I went too far down with the pink, then I’d put some more peach on the sponge and cover it up. (I didn’t actually take any pictures of the process. Whoops.)

This was my end result:

I wasn’t that happy with it. I shouldn’t have used the peach, because it was so close to my natural nail color that the finished product looked a lot  like a french manicure, just with pink tips instead of white. But it was still a lot of fun doing it.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Nails, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My first attempt at an ombre manicure

  1. I think you did pretty good!

    Cherry 🙂

  2. fivereflections says:

    interesting

Leave a Reply

