Sugar-free chocolate ice cream, with almonds

Even though I’ve been slacking when it comes to posting the recipes, I have still been making ice cream with my fabulous ice cream maker. I love it. Best purchase ever! Each time I make a batch I reduce the amount of heavy cream in the recipe and increase the amount of low fat milk, with the goal of making it as low calorie and low fat as possible without sacrificing too much of the taste. Of all the recipes I’ve made so far, this one came out the best. But that could just be because I LOVE chocolate.

Once again I skipped the double boiler method and just cooked the mixture directly over low heat, using my instant thermometer to keep it in check. The thermometer was only $5. Highly recommended.

One thing I’d like to mention is that I recall reading in several recipes that homemade ice cream doesn’t taste as good if you keep it in the freezer too long. Not true! I made this batch way back in May, and I finished my last serving of it only LAST WEEK. That’s almost two months later, and it was still incredibly yummy.

Ingredients (Makes almost five servings, 1/2 a cup each. Each serving is 232 calories. If you skip the almonds its only 164 calories!)

1 cup 2% milk
3/4 cup lowfat half and half
1/4 cup heavy cream
4 egg yolks
1.5 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
8 tbs. Truvia
1 teaspoon arrowroot
1 teaspoon Knox gelatin
1/4 cup sliced almonds
Pinch of salt

1. Combine the milk, half and half, and heavy cream. In a bowl or cup, add one teaspoon of arrowroot and 3 tablespoons of the milk mixture, and let it sit for about 15 minutes so it can dissolve and thicken. Do the same with the gelatin, in another bowl. Below is the before and after.

2.  Heat the rest of the milk mixture in a small saucepan over a low flame and stir in the cocoa powder.

3. Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites and whisk the yolks. (You can use the egg whites to make Meringue cookies!)

4. Pour the gelatin into the mixture, then the eggs, and stir until the thermometer reaches 175 degrees (or until it coats the back of a spoon).

5. Remove from the stove and cool on ice or in cold water.

6. Once it’s cool, add the Truvia, vanilla, arrowroot, and salt.

7. Put the mixture in the fridge for at least a few hours. I left it in overnight. The gelatin gives it the springy texture.

8. Now you just pour it into the ice cream maker. I waited until it got to the consistency in the right picture before adding the almonds.

That’s it! Just portion and serve.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Dieting, Food, HCG, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar-free chocolate ice cream, with almonds

  1. sillyG says:

    An ice cream maker is so on my list of things to purchase!

Leave a Reply

