A diet update and a dating update, all rolled into one

For the last two weeks I’ve been talking to this guy I met over a social networking website – and no, it wasn’t twitter. We messaged back and forth sporadically for the first week. Then he gave me his number, and now we’ve been texting since last Wednesday. He is really cute and I’m REALLY digging him. We’re meeting up this Saturday, so we’ll see what happens there.

While writing this post I realized that my last diet update was almost two months ago. That’s crazy! Despite my declaration on May 29 that “I’m going back on my diet today,” I really didn’t get back on it until last Tuesday. For most of June my weight hovered around 144.

It all boils down to a lack of discipline, and the truth is that I didn’t WANT to be disciplined. I’ve been too busy enjoying life. I’ve been going out every weekend, eating and/or drinking (and sometimes eating again at 4 in the morning). I’ve gone to birthday parties and family get-togethers, and then I was up in Kingston. During all of these events the food was amazing, and I didn’t hesitate when it came time to eat it. And I won’t apologize for it!!

Last Monday my company had its annual company outing, which consists of a day at a country club and lots of food. So in the weeks leading up to it I said to myself, “Okay, the day after the outing you are going back on your diet.” And I did. By last Friday I managed to get back down to 141. And even though I went out eating and drinking on Friday and Saturday, I didn’t eat that much on Sunday and so by Monday I was down to 140.

This week I’ve been on my diet HARDCORE. No carbs at all. Making meringue cookies every night so I won’t snack on junk at work the next day. As a result, I’m back down to 137.5! It was SUCH a relief to get out of the 140s. At this rate I should be back down to 136 by Saturday (but if not, no big deal. I’ll be there soon.). It’s CRAZY what a difference a few pounds makes on my body. I can really see it in my boobs and stomach.

So I’m happy to report that after several months of dithering around I am finally back on track with my diet. It’s hard to explain, but this time I KNOW it is the real thing, as opposed to the half-assed attempts of the past few months. I haven’t felt the urge to cheat at all. A large part of this new-found motivation can be attributed to my upcoming date this Saturday. It’s slightly annoying that I need a guy to motivate me, but hey, whatever it takes, right?

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Dieting, HCG, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A diet update and a dating update, all rolled into one

  1. H.H. says:

    Just wanted to let you know, you’ve won the “Beautiful Blogger Award” by being on our blogroll.

    Lo & HH

  2. Jeni Johnson says:

    Good luck! How tall are you?

    • 5’4. I’ll be happy once I hit – and manage to maintain – 133-134 pounds. I know that’s on the heavy side for that height, but I think that’s the lowest I can go without losing my curves.

  3. bcann says:

    Curious. What do you mean by “He’s been saying all the right things so far.”

    What does he do that entices you so?

    You should be more detailed and expansive in your posts, to give your readers a better idea about the nature of dating and bond people people to your blog.

    When the well is full, one can drink more deeply.

    • That’s a valid point. I purposely didn’t want to say too much, because this might actually go somewhere and I don’t know how he’d feel about being quoted word for word on my blog. But I *could* have said, “He’s been saying all the right things so far in the sense that he seems to be ready for a relationship.”

  4. I think I need a guy to motivate me too – it’s when I think of getting into bed with someone new that I start to feel bothered about the spare tyre!

Leave a Reply

