Could this be my last first-date story ever?

Obviously it’s too early to answer THAT question, since New Guy and I have only gone on ONE date. Jeez, slow down people! But I had a really good time with him, and I can easily see it turning into something more.

Our date was on Saturday night. The plan was for him to pick me up at my house and then we’d go to dinner. I was taken aback when he mentioned picking me up. Ever since I started going on OkCupid dates it has become standard that regardless of where we’re going, my date and I are meeting there. For one thing, you should never get into a car with someone you don’t know, in case they’re a psycho murderer (which is also why you don’t want them to know where you live). And, almost as important, you need to be able to make a quick getaway if the date isn’t going well – and that’s difficult to do if you need your date to give you a ride home.

Also, “I’m looking for parking” is the BEST excuse when you’re 10-15 minutes late for your date!

So yeah, I debated over whether I should let him pick me up. But in the end, after much discussion with my friends, I decided to throw caution to the wind. Besides, other than the fact that we first started talking online, this really didn’t feel anything like my typical OkCupid dates. We had talked a LOT in the days leading up to it, much more than I’ve ever talked to a guy before.

That day he was supposed to go visit his sister before he picked me up, so I wasn’t expecting him until around 9pm. But at 6:45 he texted me that his sister wasn’t answering her phone, so he was just sitting in his parked car with nowhere to go. I gave him my address and told him to head to my house. Then I went into super rush mode trying to get ready. I had literally JUST gotten out of the shower. I had to put on makeup, do my hair, and paint my toes. By the time he got to my house 20 minutes later, my makeup was on and my hair was nearly done. I told him I’d be ready in like 10 minutes.

Then like 5 minutes later he asked if he could use my bathroom. Thank god I had spent the day cleaning my apartment! I went upstairs to let him in. He was standing outside of his car, which was double parked in front of my house, and since I didn’t have my glasses on I couldn’t really see how tall he was. But he looked REALLY short. Like, shorter than me, and I’m 5’4. Then I realized that I was up a step, so I was higher than he was. As he walked towards me he got taller and taller, and by the time he reached me he’d grown from 5’5 to 5’8 or 5’9.

We kissed on the cheek and hugged. He was really cute. Overall I was very pleased. We went inside my apartment, and while he went to the bathroom I finished getting ready. It was a little awkward once he came out, because I was in my bedroom finishing my eye makeup and he was standing in the doorway trying to have a conversation. I said, “You know, this is the first time I’ve ever gotten ready for a date while my date is actually in my apartment.” He laughed and said he’d wait for me in the car.

Fifteen minutes later we were sitting in a Colombian restaurant near my house. Our dinner conversation was easygoing and comfortable. We talked about everything, including our past relationships, our families, career goals, etc. I even told him about my blog! And it was SO not a big deal. After dinner (he paid) we left the restaurant and went back to his car to figure out what to do next. We made out in the car for a few minutes.

By that point it was raining out. He suggested going to see a movie, but I didn’t have my glasses with me. I wasn’t in the mood to go to a bar and get a drink. He suggested going back to my place my place to watch a movie, to which I said “no, after that kiss there’s no way I’m letting you come back to my place!” He was like “You don’t have to worry, I have a five-date rule. But with you I might have to make it three dates.” It was all very good-natured. I *really* didn’t feel like he was trying to get me back to my place for sex. He was like “It would be nice to just watch a movie and cuddle and makeout some more.” So we ended up going back to my place.

Overall I had a great time. We’ve talked every day since then, including a few phone conversations! We’re meeting for lunch this afternoon, and we’ve already made plans to hang out on Saturday. So yeah, things are progressing quite nicely.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Could this be my last first-date story ever?

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    Yay! I had a 1 month rule…which included seeing my current Hubby 2x a week, sure we made out by kissing and a little gropping but that’s it…he proposed 8 months later. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Seb says:

    did he pick the Colombian restaurant, because if he did,that shows promise!

  3. emarie24 says:

    I was so excited when I saw that title! I’m excited to keep reading about this! He sounds like a good guy SO far, hah 🙂

    • I was scared to write that title, because now if it doesn’t turn into a relationship I’ll feel embarrassed, you know? But I’m trying to be honest on my blog…if it doesn’t work out then I’ll just have to deal.

  4. That sounds like a positive first date. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

