The new love of my life

I grew up in a mostly Hispanic neighborhood in Queens. Most of my friends were Latino, and at some point when I was a teenager one of them taught me how to dance salsa. I always enjoyed it, but I hadn’t had the opportunity to dance since back in my clubbing days. One of my besties, Tiffany, who I’ve mentioned on this blog several times, is an amazing salsa dancer. She teaches and performs. She has been telling me for years that I need to take lessons, that I would love it. I knew she was right, but I kept putting it off.

But then the perfect opportunity presented itself. Living Social was having a deal – one month of unlimited salsa classes for $40. The best part? It was for the same dance school that Tiffany went to when she first started dancing. I bought it, and managed to convince my friend Di to do the same. We finally started using it at the end of June. While I had the pass I went to class 3 times a week. When the pass expired I bought a pack of 8 classes for $125. Di wasn’t interested in continuing on, so I’ve been going by myself twice a week, on Tuesdays and Sundays.

I am SOOOO happy that I am finally doing this. It has been so fun and yet so challenging at the same time. Last week the shoes that I ordered finally came in the mail. Now there’s no turning back! 🙂

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dance, Entertainment/Nightlife, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The new love of my life

  1. Tony Bird says:

    Haha! I saw the title and thought this was going to be be about a guy! Great job finding yourself another good creative outlet!

Leave a Reply

