When life gets you down, make a sugar-free Almond Joy.

This weekend was the first Saturday since before Memorial Day that I found myself with absolutely nothing to do. And it sucked! Until this weekend my Saturdays have been spent hanging with friends, going to salsa class, visiting family, and dating New Guy. And on the nights when I didn’t actually have anything planned, my bestie Di and I would meet up for dinner and then go to this crepe place we recently discovered. But this Saturday it didn’t happen.

I knew in advance that I wouldn’t be going out Saturday night, because Di had to go to a wedding. I could have wrangled up some plans if I’d tried, but at first I was looking forward to staying in, since I haven’t done so in such a long time. My plan was to clean my apartment in the morning, go to salsa in the afternoon, and then do laundry and go grocery shopping when I got back.

Things went downhill when I tried to go to salsa class. The bus that I take to get there never came! Class starts at 4, and I waited for the bus until 4:15 before leaving. It was soooo annoying. From there I went straight to the laundromat, and while my clothes were washing and drying I did my grocery shopping and ran some errands. By the time everything was finished and I was back in my apartment, it was only 6pm!

It’s one thing to stay inside all day when it’s cold out, like I did every single weekend during this past winter when I was on my diet. But in the summer when it’s nice out? Ugh, what a waste. I sat in my apartment all night, watching movies and trying not to wallow in self-pity. Wahhhh, I’m all alone, I’m never going to meet a nice and normal guy who I am also attracted to, I’m never going to get married again, I’m never going to have a kid, and when I’m old and in a nursing home I won’t have anyone to come visit me, wahhhh.

I get this way sometimes, particularly when a relationship ends and especially when I have my period. Since I really didn’t feel like getting wrapped up in my own negativity, I threw myself into some cooking. And it worked – I was so focused on cooking that I forgot to be sad. After a yummy dinner I found myself with a major chocolate craving, so I decided to make some Chocolate Delight. This time I added toasted almonds AND toasted coconut flakes. While it didn’t exactly have the gooey coconut filling of an almond joy, the flavor was there and it was AMAZING!

Sigh…I love chocolate. It’s a bonus when it’s sugar free and I don’t have to feel guilty about it!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, Dieting, Food, HCG, Life, Personal, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When life gets you down, make a sugar-free Almond Joy.

  1. benja1974 says:

    Well, reading your post while I’m eating an apple is not exactly a good idea. Can you imagine a guy watching you chocolate picture and then turning to see the apple? … now I have to get a brownie 😦 anyway, what is life without chocolate? 🙂

  2. The pictures of these alone make my hungry. They look super delicious.

  3. emarie24 says:

    I’ve been missing your posts! And I felt that exact same way Saturday. I was tired and my plans fell through, but I didn’t want to sit at home and now that things with Magnum seem to be falling through (again) it just reminds me of how taken all of my friends are and how single I am on a Saturday night. And I’m probably going to be a crazy cat lady too.

    • Aw thanks!
      It’s funny, because I had just finished writing this post and scheduled it to publish for the next day, and then I went and read your blog and I saw what you had written and thought to myself “Damn we are seriously living the same life!”

Leave a Reply

