Weekend update

I had a pretty good weekend. I tried to do a “My Weekend in Pictures” thing in this post, but I didn’t start taking pictures until Saturday, so…yeah. Maybe next weekend.

On Friday night I went to my first salsa social. I don’t know why they call it a “social,” but basically it’s just a party at the studio where they play salsa and people dance, and there are performances and whatnot. I was extremely nervous to go. But I couldn’t bail, because I had told this girl in my class that I was going, and she said she would only go if I went. So I forced myself to go, despite major butterflies.

I’m glad I did. I only danced twice, with two of my instructors at that, but I think it was a good experience for me to dance in a “real life” situation – that is, where my partner is doing whatever he wants and I have no idea what is coming. I think I handled myself pretty well. I can’t wait until I actually know what I’m doing!

I left the studio around 1:45 and made my way downtown to meet up with Di, who was hanging out with Eve, her boyfriend, and HBG (from Memorial Day weekend, remember?). Di and I had originally made plans to hang out with them on Saturday, but Di and Eve were texting and were in the same area so they ended up meeting on Friday night. By the time I met up with them it was a little after 2. We stayed out until maybe 3:30, then called it a night. I dropped HBG off at the train station, so by the time I got home it was well after 4.

On Saturday I didn’t get out of bed until almost 2pm. Like I said, Di and I were supposed to meet up with them again on Saturday night, but we were all so tired from the night before that no one wanted to hang out. So on Saturday night I stayed in. Again. It was another wasted Saturday, but while last weekend I was all depressed about it, this weekend it was exactly what I needed. I spent the entire day watching tv. Finally around 7 I decided to make some zucchini muffins.

On Sunday I went with my mom to NJ to visit my grandmother and aunt. I do this every two or three weeks. My grandmother will be 92 in 2 weeks. Her older sisters are 94 and 96. So it would seem that I have a long life ahead of me, knock on wood.

My grandma, my aunt, and me

We did some shopping as per usual. I bought a cookie sheet and a muffin tin at Home Goods. I never could have imagined that I would get so much happiness from buying things like this, but I do. Now I can finally throw out the aluminum “disposable” muffin tins that I’ve been reusing since last year. Yay!

On the way home from NJ my mom dropped me off at the salsa studio for class. God I love it. When I got home, my mom, my brother and I drove up to the Bronx to meet her boyfriend at the golf course and then go to City Island for dinner. If you don’t know, City Island is famous for its seafood restaurants. And I loveeee seafood.

That was me at the golf course. I took two swings and decided that I am officially giving up golf. There was a period last year when I was playing a lot of golf. And I wasn’t half bad. But then one day I swung really hard and ended up hurting my shoulder pretty badly. I was scared that the damage was permanent, but finally after three or four months the pain went away. But in those two swings yesterday I could feel a little twinge in my shoulder as well as in my lower back, so I said “F this, I’m done with golf for good.” Besides, I much rather salsa!

Dinner was outstanding. We go to this place Artie’s, which has the most amazing New England clam chowder I’ve ever tasted. We got two of the “clam bakes” pictured above, plus: a dozen clams, a dozen oysters, fried shrimp, and clam chowder. My brother and my mom each got a dessert, and of course I ate some. By the time I got home I was in a major food coma. Which was fine, since it was bedtime anyway.

So there you have it, my weekend “in pictures.” All in all it was a good weekend. Definitely no complaints!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Cooking, Dance, Entertainment/Nightlife, Food, Personal, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend update

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    Those glasses are awesome on you. Not a nerdy look like most people look when they wear their Jerry Lewis’s. 🙂

Leave a Reply

