This day in (my) history – Saturday, August 29, 1992

On this date in 1992, I was 13 and about to start eighth grade. Even though I’d had crushes galore, I’d never had a boyfriend and had never even made out with anyone. But that would soon change…

(You might be thinking, “You were only 13, of course you hadn’t done these things.” But I was actually one of the last of my friends to kiss a boy. Most of them had done that at 11 or 12!)

My best friend, Nati, had come to New York a few days earlier to stay with her grandma because Hurricane Andrew had destroyed her house in Florida. She’d been hanging out with me on my block ever since she had arrived.

My block was the shit. A mix of private houses and small apartment buildings, there were a ton of kids of all ages living there. It was the hangout spot for a lot of the neighborhood kids. Included in that group of “neighborhood kids” was a bunch of guys who lived a few blocks away. They ranged in age from 14 to 17, maybe 18. I’d known most of them for a long time, but they’d only been hanging out on my block for a year or so, because one of their friends, Rob, lived on the corner.

In retrospect, I guess you could say they were “bad” kids – they’d come to the block and drink forties and play dice. I didn’t drink at that point, but I’d occasionally play dice with them. Cee-lo! So yeah, I guess they were bad. But they were my friends.

That night my mom let me hang out pretty late. I was usually allowed to stay out until 11:30 or so, but since Nati was there and my older “cousins” were also hanging out, she let me stay out until almost 1. (Haha, I just remembered, my mom didn’t actually “let” me hang out until 1. She had called me to come inside before midnight, but I begged to stay out until 12:30. Then when it was almost 1 and I still hadn’t come home, she called me from the window and said “Get your ass in this house RIGHT NOW!”)

Anyway, we were hanging and flirting with the guys. There was an excitement in the air, I guess because Nati was there and it was just different than the normal hanging out. At some point Nati pulled me aside and told me that she’d been talking to the guys and that two of them liked me, so I should pick which one I liked and then go out with him. They were both cute, but I liked Jose more.

I told Nati that I liked Jose. She must have told him, or told one of his friends who then told him, because it wasn’t too long before Jose came up to me and asked me if I wanted to go for a walk. I said okay, so we started walking up the block. After some random chit chat he said to me, “I wanted to tell you that I really like you. ” I said “I like you too.” He smiled and said, “So, do you want to be my girlfriend?”I smiled back and said, “Yeah, I do.”

And that is the story of how I got together with my first boyfriend, Jose. Our first kiss took place a few days later. ❤

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This day in (my) history – Saturday, August 29, 1992

  1. Seb says:

    Jose was a fast mover….

Leave a Reply

