Salad a Day Challenge

This week I decided to join L’s “Salad a day” challenge over at tryingnottobefat. I love eating salads (cucumbers are my favorite food, period) and I eat a really big one for lunch just about every single day anyway, so in truth joining the challenge caused no disruption to my life whatsoever. I love non-challenging Challenges! Guaranteed success. Haha. I DID have to add some turkey to my salads in order to follow the rule that the salad have protein, so there was that.

Ingredients

3 or 4 handfuls of red leaf lettuce (it’s not as healthy as Romaine, but it’s my fave!)
1 handful of pre-sliced and pre-washed mushrooms
1/3 of an avocado
1/3 of a large cucumber
A little bit of onion, sliced really thin (which is the only way I can tolerate raw onion)
A quarter pound of Boar’s Head turkey, cubed
One small tomato
Half a roasted red pepper, sliced
8 cubes of cheddar cheese that my mom brought me from her work

I dressed it with 5 teaspoons of olive oil and 3 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar, added a little bit of salt, and then mixed it all up (must…refrain…from…”salad tossing” joke…). Delish!!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Food, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salad a Day Challenge

  1. SillyG says:

    I need to take up this challenge!! I am the worst salad eater ever

  2. NICE salad!! Try to get your hands on 25 year old balsamic. It’s incredible, but usually 40-50$ a bottle. It’s thick and syrupy just from old long it’s been aged. Don’t need oil or anything!

Leave a Reply

