I reactivated my OkCupid account

Last week I was sitting out back smoking a cigarette (no judgment please – besides, I haven’t had one since Friday and I think I’m back on the wagon now), and I needed something to focus on for the next five minutes. I went through my “top-tier” phone apps – Facebook and Instagram – in about 15 seconds. Then I went through my second tier apps – WordPress, Twitter, and Bloglovin – in about 30 seconds. Then I even checked my Monster, Draw Something and Period Tracker apps!

Nothing was happening on any of them, and I still had more than half a cigarette to smoke. So I said “Fuck it” and clicked on my OkCupid app. I had to confirm that I wanted to reactivate my account, and then I was back in. And just like I thought, it was exactly the same guys as before. Which makes sense, duh, because I only quit a month ago. I didn’t stay on for long, just a minute or two while I finished smoking.

I’ve gone on several times over the past week and have gotten some messages, but I really don’t have any desire to engage with anyone new. There was one guy who messaged me who is kind of cute, and when I showed his pictures to Di she said I should definitely reply. I might, eventually, but at the moment I have ZERO interest.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I reactivated my OkCupid account

  1. Seb says:

    I really should try one of these services one day, just to see what comes up!

  2. Tony Bird says:

    Judge you for smoking? No way! For reactivating your OkCupid account? Maybe. Do you want a cupid that’s just OK? I mean, the very name implies mediocrity!

    (Drunk blog comment courtesy of Sailor Jerry’s and Tony Bird)

  3. SillyG says:

    I did the reactivate thing a while back and was totally disinterested. Had a couple dates and disinterested. Finally hid after a month cause i had no energy for it and haven’t been back since (well I seem to have a date atm, but think I’d still be off even if he wasn’t around).

    • SillyG says:

      …. now I think I’ll go for a smoke 🙂

      • Yeah that’s exactly it, I just don’t have the energy for it. Not just for the online part, but also I really don’t feel like spending 2 hours getting ready for a date that I’m like 99% sure isn’t going to go anywhere. Sigh…

        • SillyG says:

          Exactly. lol I knew it was bad when my pre-date primp was only about 20 minutes. lucky i got my teeth brushed! However…. it was one of those dates when I was hating it that has turned into my 6 month one-itis of late. So I should shut up!

Leave a Reply

