Last night’s date

So I DID end up going on last night’s OkCupid date. All of the things I was worried about yesterday proved irrelevant. I had been assuming we were going to meet in Manhattan, and that I would have to hang around the city for three hours until he was available. But he ended up driving down to my neighborhood from Westchester, so after work I was able to go to the gym, come home, and get ready without any stress or hassle whatsoever.

We ended up meeting at Bare Burger, which is the place that I went with Joey on our first date. See, this OkCupid dating is good for something! I’ve gone back there several times since. If you are ever in NY I definitely recommend this place. Their pesto red pepper burger is a-mah-zing (I watched a lot of Happy Endings this week lol).

I met him at 9:40. He was 10 minutes late, but considering he had driven at least a half hour to get to my neighborhood, I didn’t mind at all. He brought me a rose, which I thought was so sweet! The last guy who gave me flowers was my husband, and that was at least 6 years ago, maybe longer.

Off the bat I thought he was attractive, even though he didn’t seem like he’d be my type. He’s kind of grunge-y and he has a lip ring. But I knew that about him beforehand, so whatever.

There were a few things I didn’t like about him:

1 – He was really “on” – it was almost like he had material prepared and was doing a stand-up routine. He was literally setting up his own punchlines. But I am generally pretty quiet, so maybe he just realized that and was trying to compensate?

2 – He kept trying to go back and forth with the waitress and the busboy. The way I described it to my friends: have you ever been out at a big family dinner and there’s one person who is trying to banter with the waitress, but it becomes really awkward and makes everyone else uncomfortable, and you just feel really bad for the waitress because you know she’s thinking “omg, would you leave me alone so I can do my job?” I had that feeling several times over the course of dinner. But maybe I imagined that?

3 – He told some sexual jokes and made a few sexual comments. I’m no prude, but I’m pretty sure that ‘cock’ should never be said on a first date. I wasn’t offended, but…I don’t know. When a guy starts talking sexually I immediately start to think that’s all he’s after.

4 – He sounded like Jon Cryer. Considering he’s Greek and Puerto Rican and grew up in NY, it was not what I expected at all!

Overall, though, I had a pretty good time. There was an awkward, no-chemistry-having kiss at the end of the night, but despite that I would still see him again, just to see what happens.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Last night’s date

  1. ditchthemarriage says:

    I dont know… maybe you need to put him in the “friend” pile. Should be a spark on the first date, plus you numbered your cons! That is never a good sign! But I am glad you went šŸ™‚ you have to kiss a lot of frogs…

  2. andy1076 says:

    sex jokes on date one? oookay! lol

  3. I loved a good Penny “Ah-Mah-Zing” moment

  4. SillyG says:

    lol. some people (like me) totally talk/joke/stick foot in mouth/act too on just cause they are nervous šŸ™‚

  5. Seb says:

    We need a 0-5 rating system here. He does sound a little eager. I give him a 3.5

  6. emarie24 says:

    Sex jokes? Way too soon! I love sex jokes but you need to know somebody before bringing those out.

  7. charginout says:

    Yep, sex jokes on first date is a problem.

  8. Jeni Johnson says:

    Hahahaha, seems you were entertained at his expense. Score, but i agree with all those who commeteddef. a friend pile….BTW- make the guys come to your hood….just not your from door. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

