I’m going, going, back, back, to Seattle, Seattle

I have two vacations coming up, and I can’t wait!

The first is…tomorrow! I’m flying to Seattle to visit my one of my oldest best friends, Vera. If you read yesterday’s 9/11 post, she’s the girl I was hanging out with that day. We’ve been best friends since junior high school. Last November, Vera moved out to Seattle with her boyfriend. We’ve been talking about me going to visit for awhile, but never actually made any plans. Then like two weeks ago she called me to see if I wanted come. Her brother works for Jet Blue, so I’ll be using one of his buddy passes. It’s going to be a really cheap flight, like only $100 round trip!

However, I’ll be flying standby. So I won’t be 100% sure that I’m going to Seattle until my butt is literally in the airplane seat and the plane has taken off. I’m trying not to get too excited about this trip, just in case it doesn’t happen. It’s going to be a short one – I’ll leave tomorrow morning and come home on Sunday evening.  Hopefully.

I haven’t been to Seattle since I was 9 years old. When I was 8, in the third grade, my mom and dad decided to move us to Reno, Nevada. I’m not sure why they chose Reno, but my grandpa lived in nearby Lake Tahoe, so I guess that had something to do with it. In December 1987, on my Christmas break, we drove across the country from NY to Nevada.

It took less than two months for my dad to decide he hated it there. Either he was having a difficult time finding a job, or he hated the job he had found. I’m not sure, to be honest. I was only 9 at the time. Regardless, he didn’t like Nevada and wanted to move back to NY. So he did.

But my mother and I didn’t move back with him. Instead, we left our apartment in Reno and moved in with my grandpa and his wife, Renata. I think the plan was for me to finish out my school year in Lake Tahoe, and then we would move back to NY with my dad, giving him enough time to find an apartment and a job.

But it didn’t quite work out that way.

Renata was my grandpa’s second wife. He left my grandmother – and their five kids – to be with her. My mom and Renata had been bumping heads ever since my mom was 16. I think there was even a fist fight at one point. So anyway, the story as I have since heard it is that Renata was being bitchy to me and my mom went apeshit on her. We had been in Lake Tahoe for about a month, but that very night my mom packed up all our things and drove us to Seattle, where my aunt and two cousins lived.

We spent a month in Seattle. It was awesome. In Reno and Lake Tahoe I’d been enrolled in school, but my mom didn’t bother once we got to Seattle. We traveled a lot. We spent some time in Bar Harbour with some friend of my aunt who had a daughter that was a year younger than me, and my mom also took us (me and my cousins) to Vancouver for a while. I also remember this really cool Easter egg hunt. And buying a kimono.

But all good things come to an end, unfortunately. Eventually we left Seattle and drove back across the country to NY. I memorized all 50 states and their capitals during that trip. My mom and I stayed at my grandma’s house for a few days after we got back, and then we moved in with my dad. I ended up finishing the third grade at the same school I had started at.

…………………………………………………..

That is the end of my trip down Memory Lane. Now that I’m an adult – nearly the same age that my mom and dad were when all of this went down – I can’t help but wonder WHAT THE HELL was actually going on back then???? I mean, it’s no small thing to pack up and move clear across the country. And then to move back right away? And for my dad to move back without us? WTF?

Also, we used to have this little white mazda, and someone set that little white mazda on fire. Was that somehow related to our move to Nevada?

Were there marital problems? Were we running from something? Talk about ‘things that make you go “hmmm.”‘ I am going to have to talk about this with my mom one of these days and get to the bottom of it.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Life, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m going, going, back, back, to Seattle, Seattle

  1. Seb says:

    I’ve moved coast to coast three times so far. And I have to say – the East-West trip is always better than the West-East 🙂

  2. MayDay says:

    Sounds like some interesting things going on in your family history. If I think about it really hard I can kind of remember some sketchy things from my childhood too that don’t make a lot of sense. I guess now as a adult it’s definitely time to clear some things up!

Leave a Reply

