My day in pictures – Seattle, Day 3

Yesterday was a lot of fun. It started out with a hike. We (me, Vera, her boyfriend, and the dogs) hiked up a mountain to this old tunnel that used to be a railroad tunnel. The tunnel goes straight through the mountain, from one side to the other. It’s almost three miles long. It is NOT something you’d walk through if you are at all claustrophobic or afraid of the dark, because it is narrow and pitch black.

When I first heard about the tunnel I immediately thought of Lord of the Rings, when Frodo & Company have to walk through Moria to get through the mountains. I COULD NOT WAIT to be able to make believe that I was Frodo, on a quest, walking through the darkness with only the light of Vera’s staff (a.k.a. her flashlight) to guide me. I’m such a dork sometimes.

We only went about half a mile before turning back. I could have kept going, but Vera was a little afraid. Also, we weren’t properly dressed for our quest – the tunnel was freezing as we got further into it. After we made our way back, we hiked down the mountain and back to the car, dropped the dogs off at home, and then headed to dinner. Jewish deli food, yummm.

Then Vera and I went to what’s called a “paint and sip.” Basically, you go to an art studio, they provide you with a canvas and paint, and there’s a teacher up in the front teaching everyone in the class how to paint a certain painting. You get to keep your painting when you’re done. Oh, and they give you wine and appetizers – hence the “sip.” It was so much fun! I would definitely do it again.

It was after 9 by the time we were done. I was exhausted, but I didn’t want to spend a weekend in Seattle without enjoying the nightlife, so we did a little bit of bar hopping before calling it a night around midnight.

Today is my last day here. Time to get out of bed and get moving!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Personal, Photos, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My day in pictures – Seattle, Day 3

  1. Tony Bird says:

    That tunnel hike sounds amazing! I took my kids through a cave not too long ago and thought of LotR as well. Although, for me, I pictured Cirith Ungol and kept an eye out for giant spiders. 🙂

    • Haha I was thinking of LOTR the entire hike. Like, Frodo and Sam were hiking every days for months, and they couldn’t even stay on the paths since it was too dangerous…so as I was looking at the woods off the paths I was thinking about how exhausted they must have been even without the burden of carrying the ring!

  2. SillyG says:

    Fun trip! I can imagine that tunnel being super cold!

  3. I like the ‘blue’ painting. I’d have that on my wall!

Leave a Reply

