Back to reality…for now

I have to say, it was NOT easy to stick to this month’s promise of one post every day while I was in Seattle. I was using my phone app, and every time I tried to publish a post the pictures wouldn’t upload. Eventually I figured out that I could only upload 2 or 3 pictures at a time, which made the whole process incredibly tedious. What would have taken me a half hour on the computer ended up taking me at least 2 hours every morning. Fortunately I was still on NY time and kept waking up at 6 in the morning, which gave me several hours to kill before we started our day.

Overall I had a great time in Seattle, but I’m not suffering from Post-Vacation Depression the way I usually do when I get back from a vacation. I have no overwhelming desire to abandon my life in NY and put down roots in Seattle. Why is that, you ask? Well, there are a few reasons.

  1. All of my recent vacations have been with my younger group of friends. We like to party, and every vacation has included nights of drinking and dancing until the sun comes up. But my trip to Seattle wasn’t like that at all. Vera is my age and her boyfriend is a few years older, and that just isn’t their thing. So instead of dancing and shots, there was painting and wine. I still had a great time, but it was just way more mellow than past trips (in my head I’ve been referring to it as my “grown up vacation”). As a result, I am not coming down from “a vacation high,” because I was never really “up.”
  2. Seattle was pretty, but if I’m going to live in a city then it might as well be New York City!
  3. Seattle ≠ cute guys. Not that I was ever on the prowl or anything. Vera is in a relationship, so I knew even before I got there that it was going to be a different type of trip – one that didn’t involve actively trying to meet guys. (How strange.) I was fine with that, and in a way was actually looking forward to it. But I still have eyes, and with the exception of ONE guy who was working at the bicycle and wine shop we got a drink at, I didn’t see anything I liked.

With all of that said, I think that the REAL reason why I am not totally depressed right now is that I have ANOTHER vacation planned for next month! It’s a big one, too – I’ll be out of the country for 9 days. I’ll post the details soon. But the point is, I still have something on the horizon to look forward to, which means that there is nothing for me to be depressed about. For now.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to reality…for now

  1. Tony Bird says:

    That’s funny about the lack of good-looking guys. I’m always surprised at the places where beautiful people are an are not. I’ve lived in Okinawa for years and pretty locals are a rarity, but when I went to Tokyo, there were hotties everywhere! Probably my biggest surprise, though, was my trip to Anchorage. I figured the girls there would all have beards and be draped in Carhartts, but just about every young woman I saw there was very attractive.

Leave a Reply

