(Said in my best Snookie voice:) I’m going to Europe, b*tch!

I decided to wait to write about my upcoming trip because I didn’t want it to steal my Seattle trip’s thunder, but now that my Seattle trip is over…I’m going to Europe! I’m going with one of my besties, Di (pronounced Dee). We’re going to Paris, then Amsterdam, then Brussels, and finally to Berlin. A total of 9 days.

I’ve been to Europe twice before. Both times were to Ireland. That’s where my ex was from, so that’s where we went. We stayed with his parents. Although I enjoyed my visits there, I definitely never had the Europe experience that I’ve been imagining ever since I watched “European Vacation” as a little girl. (Sidenote: I’ve had the opening theme song to the “Vacation” movies stuck in my head since the moment we bought our tickets!)

This will be the third major vacation that I’ve gone on with Di. Last year we went to New Orleans and Puerto Rico. We’ve also gone on a few minor trips (ski weekend, Jersey Shore, and upstate to Kingston).

Di and I travel really well together. When it comes to food, we enjoy eating the same things, and whenever we go out to eat, we pick out two meals to share. This makes things much easier in terms of money. There’s never any “Well my meal was $14 and yours was $22, so you owe me this and blah blah blah,” because we just split everything down the middle! This might seem like a minor thing, but money issues have ruined many a friendship, so it’s nice that we don’t have to worry about that. Plus, we each get to try two meals.

We also tend to be on the same page as far as activities. Yeah, maybe we should have gone ziplining through the rainforest in Puerto Rico, or to the Bioluminescent Bay, because that’s what you do when you go to Puerto Rico, but after a little bit of “Should we or shouldn’t we?” we both admitted that we didn’t really care about that stuff and would much rather spend the day by the pool. So we did!

So even though this trip will be more than twice as long as our other ones, I’m confident that we will still be friends by the time it is over.

I still have a few things to do in order to get ready for my trip. I need to buy sneakers, comfortable shoes for walking around (I”m thinking an ankle boot with a small heel), a coat, and some prescription sunglasses. And I need to look into getting a small, battery-powered flat iron, if there is such a thing and it’s not too expensive. Oh, and I need to lose 10 pounds. All of this by October 9. The clock is ticking!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dieting, Life, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to (Said in my best Snookie voice:) I’m going to Europe, b*tch!

  1. MayDay says:

    That’s so exciting! I love having a friend you can travel with. I’ve only been to Europe with my ex before also and I’m dying to do it again with friends backpacking style cause I think it would be so much more fun. Take lots of pics!

  2. So jealous! This is something I’ve always wanted to do. Take lots of pictures once you go and come back and flaunt them to us all 🙂

  3. Tony Bird says:

    I’ve been wanting to go to Germany for a long time. I have a bunch of family out there that I hardly ever see except every once in a while when they come to visit my Oma.

  4. Seb says:

    It’ll be a grand adventure!

  5. emarie24 says:

    I have a friend like that! I LOVE traveling with her and wish I could travel everywhere with her! I love Europe! I’m trying to plan my dang Germany trip but it’s impossible over Skype in different time zones!

  6. I love your title! It’s so funny and I can actually HEAR Snooki saying it! Have a great time!! Don’t forget to GTL while there 😉

  7. I went to Amsterdam last month, it was a blast, and I’ve been to Berlin before (but when I was younger) and that’s a really nice city. Hope you enjoy your trip!
    P.S: The coffeeshops in Amsterdam are nice 😉

Leave a Reply

