I’ve decided to start a new blog

Ever since I started this blog I’ve been struggling with the decision of whether or not I should “go public” to people I actually know. The reason why I haven’t is that some of the stuff I write on here is very personal, and I didn’t want to hurt or embarrass anybody with the things I write about, particularly my almost-but-not-quite ex-husband.

As a result, I’ve been walking this weird tightrope. Like, my instagram name is notchangingit, but I don’t have a link to this site on my instagram profile, because my instagram posts to my facebook and I don’t want my facebook friends to know about the blog. But then my twitter name is also notchangingit, and that account DOES have a link to my site. So really, all someone on Facebook would have to do is google “notchangingit” and I’d be “caught.” Does anyone care that much? Probably not, but it’s still a concern for me.

It’s annoying because I have a lot of facebook friends, and by not posting my blog to facebook I am missing out on a huge potential audience right there. I have a facebook page for this site, but I haven’t done anything with it because I don’t want anyone I know to find out about it! I don’t want my friends to “like” it, because then it would show up in their newsfeeds and mutual friends would see it. And I can’t even “like” other blogs on facebook, because everything shows up in the newsfeed and can all be tracked back to this site!

It has just become wayyy too complicated!

It all came to a head on Wednesday when I discovered WordAds, WordPress’s new advertising thing. Advertising on this site wasn’t something I was really looking to do (I’m an artist, man), but I get a fair amount hits to this site because of my recipes. If I can somehow monetize that, then why not? This led to think once again about the audience I’m missing out on by not going public on Facebook.

So yesterday morning I finally realized (with Tiffany’s help) that the best thing for me to do is create another blog. That blog would contain the recipes, the vacation pics, the nails, and all the other superficial shit that I would be happy to share with the world. This blog would contain the dating stories and all the other personal things. That blog would be a way for me to promote and market myself, while this blog would provide the creative outlet that I need. Best of both worlds.

So yeah, that’s my new plan. I know it’s going to be a lot of work trying to maintain two blogs, but overall I feel pretty happy with the decision. Like I’m moving forward.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Life, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ve decided to start a new blog

  1. I felt the exact same way a few months ago. I never posted my blog to my facebook and only those that followed me on twitter truly knew about it. But one day I just started posting and surprisingly received some positive feedback from friends, that I didn’t expect.

    I know what you’re going through! and I will definitely follow both blogs you do

    • Aww thanks! I’m already second guessing myself though…does maintaining two blogs even make sense? Your comment definitely didn’t help my confusion lol…maybe I should just say fuck it and go public! I don’t know but it’s so hard to decide!

  2. emarie24 says:

    I have thought about this too! I use this blog and “like” recipes and if somebody actually knows me, the picture of my gym clothes COULD be enough to give it away… Maybe I’ll go “not so hidden…” Haha… It’d be nice to be able to post pictures without having it linked to stories of my vag (because my facebook friends do not need to know about my vag… or my sex).

  3. Matt79 says:

    I’m sorry if this complicates things further, but if you have people who follow both blogs it’s possible that someone might find their way from one of your blogs to the other one by looking at which blogs one of your commenters follows, if that makes sense. When I first started reading blogs I looked at what other blogs were being followed by people who commented on the initial blogs I found. Just thought it was worth pointing this out.

    • It DOES complicate things further. Thanks a lot. :-X

      Haha jk. I did think about those things. Believe me, I have thought of every possible way that I could be discovered. But I think it’s highly unlikely that it would happen that way. The people who I am concerned about reading my blog aren’t in the blogging world, and so I doubt they’d be looking at the commenters and their links the way you or I would as bloggers. But of course it could happen, and with my luck, it probably will.

  4. SillyG says:

    Ha… isn’t this a common dilemma and exactly the one I had. I was itching to share this one with a few friends and at the same time have been scared as shit that someone will stumble across me here and learn all my secrets!
    I started a food blog too. But it is the one I haven’t kept up. Come visit me there, I may just start posting again soon. seartoperfection.wordpress.com. See you on the other side!

  5. nikki says:

    Having the same username on social networking sites is the same reason I moved my last blog – while there is no magic eraser to what we post online – I believe in keeping it as separate as possible because “real” life people can be so “special” about what you post about yourself online (which I have always found weird).

    I think if you want to do two, it is possible to manage once you get into a schedule and content lined up. Whatever you do, just don’t post the link here because people do love to google the shit out of everything these days.

Leave a Reply

