Weekend Update

My weekend was pretty good. On Saturday I DID end up going to that Oyster Fest. I left my house around 7 and drove to my friend’s new apartment in the Upper East Side. We waited for our other friend to meet us there, and then hopped in a cab downtown. By the time we got to the Financial District it was already after 9, and the crowd on the street where the festival was being held was already thinning out. But the bars were all pretty crowded.

Our other friend was already down there, so with met up her at this Irish pub type of place. It was okay. There was live music. The band started out playing Trad music. Trad is short for Traditional, as in Traditional Irish music. Those of us in the know call it Trad music. (Lol I’m only “in the know” because my ex was Irish. This is one of the many nuggets of information about Ireland that I’ve retained.)

I do like Trad music, but not when I’ve got a buzz and I’m looking to dance. Which I was. At the time I didn’t think I’d had that much to drink, but in retrospect I guess I did. Two glasses of wine while we were still at my friend’s place, then a beer, and then a vodka and club soda. I don’t know, I guess I don’t really count the wine as “drinks,” although I was pretty buzzed from those two glasses.

Anyway, after the trad music they started playing some other generic American music, like “Son of a Preacher Man.” The band was good, but we were not in the mood. So we decided to leave and go to this place a few doors down. We had passed by there earlier and they were playing hip hop, so we made a mental note to go back at some point. But by the time we got there it was EMPTY! It was only 11pm and they were already closing down the bar. At that point we were faced with our biggest decision of the night: should we go somewhere else or just go home?

We decided to call it a night. I hung out at my friend’s place for about an hour, to make sure I was completely sober, and then drove home. I was in bed by 1.

Sunday was uneventful. I spend the entire day watching tv and working on the layout for my new blog. I didn’t even change out of my pajamas. I must have spent a good 12 hours working on the blog…and yet it feels like I barely accomplished anything. It’s so frustrating to know what I want to do, but not be able to do it because I don’t have the CSS skills. But I’m getting there. I’m hoping to be done with it by the end of the week. The sooner the better. I’ve got all these recipe posts that are now “on hold” because I keep thinking “Oh, wait, that should go on the new blog, not this one.”

Tis all.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Design, Dieting, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Tony Bird says:

    Oysters sound pretty amazing. I don’t usually get them because watching me eat them makes my wife sick.

Leave a Reply

