Salsa update

Tuesday was the last day of my Beginner Salsa class. It wasn’t a regular class. Instead, we did a quick review of what we’ve learned this cycle and then had to take a test to see if we’re good enough to go to the next level, which is Advanced Beginner. Needless to say, I passed. 🙂

I am feeling pretty good about myself. Taking salsa classes is something I had been wanting to do for a very long time, but I never did. I don’t even know why. But now I’ve finally accomplished something I set out to do, and I guess I’m proud of myself. Of course, I am by no means ready to tear it up on the dance floor. But it’s a start. I can’t wait to begin the Advanced Beginner cycle, which starts next week.

When I started taking classes there was always the hope that I might meet a guy, but that hasn’t happened yet. My salsa teacher DID hit on me (naturally), but he’s only 24 and I am trying to stay away from younger guys. Plus he’s going to be my teacher for at least the next three months, and I don’t want to shit where I eat. Plus I’m not that attracted to him (although that changes when I see him dancing).

It’s funny though. Despite the fact that I’m not interested and was mildly annoyed with him for putting me in the position of having to reject him nicely (I had to be diplomatic since I would be seeing him every week in class), I guess I still liked the fact that he was pursuing me (he had stalked me on facebook and then was texting me a lot), because when I was at class the other day and I realized that he hadn’t texted me in awhile, I decided that I wanted him back on my hook! So when we were reviewing our partner work and we were dancing together I kept smiling and making eye contact, and then at the end of class when he was giving me my one-on-one evaluation (I have a lot of natural talent, but I need to work on relaxing my upper body), I was smiling and being engaging, which is normal for most people, but NOT for me.

He texted me the next day.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dance, Dating, Life, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salsa update

  1. MayDay says:

    Congrats on the class! That’s great you’re pursuing something you always wanted to try. Well played with the teacher. I’m the same in that I miss the attention when it goes away regardless of whether or not I’m actually interested.

  2. Seb says:

    Time for a salsa-sational video blog!

Leave a Reply

