Hi Canada

New post over at my new blog!

I’m writing this post while I’m on my flight to Paris. If I’m lucky there will be wi-fi in the airport and I can upload it there. I’m telling you now, though, do NOT expect a post every single day like I did when I was in Seattle. After all, I’ve got two blogs to maintain now!

I’ve heard the term “French Canadian” before, but I never realized just what that meant until I got to Montreal airport yesterday. The signs and the announcements were in English AND French, and the customs guys were speaking French. It was unexpected and annoying, to be honest. I don’t know why it was annoying, but it was. (PMS, most likely.)

It was there in the airport that it hit me that I am going to be spending the next 9 days in a bunch of non-English speaking countries! How the hell am I going to communicate with anyone??

That feeling was reinforced when I got on the plane for my flight to Paris and someone was sitting in my seat. He only spoke French, and then the flight attendant came over and HE was speaking French. I just stood there smiling and pointing to my seat number on my boarding pass.

I’m not too worried about it, though. It’s not like I’ll be there alone. I have my bestie with me, and I’m perfectly fine if she’s the only person I speak to for the next nine days. Somehow we never seem to run out of things to talk about!

Oh, by the way, does anyone know what’s up with Canada and needles? On the barf bag on our flight from New York to Montreal there was a sign that said “no needles,” and then in the bathroom in Montreal airport there was a box for people to deposit their needles safely. I’ve never seen that before.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Life, Personal, Photos, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hi Canada

  1. SillyG says:

    where do people put their insulin needles in the states?
    have a great trip!!!

  2. emarie24 says:

    A lot of other countries have that. I assume it’s for insulin as well. And I was stuck in CHINA with nobody who spoke English. Haha… you want to talk about difficult!!! Have fun!

  3. MayDay says:

    So excited for you! Never been to Paris but I’m dying to go. I’m sure they get so many tourists that there will be people that speak English. And I’ve never seen a needle depository before either but yea it must be for insulin.

  4. Doug says:

    I’m English and live in Montreal. An overwhelming majority if French Canadians in Montreal can speak English as a second language. I’d be surprised if when traveling especially that you wouldn’t be able to communicate with a French Canadian or at least find a colleague of theirs close by who could. Embrace the difference it will make your trip all the more fun and interesting.

  5. Tony Bird says:

    Whoa, just realized how far behind I am on your blog. I love that culture shock is only one border away! 🙂 I know it’s way too late now, but next time you’re thinking about visiting a foreign country, you can listen to the Pimsleur audio course in the six weeks prior. (It’s how I learned Cantonese and Japanese.)

Leave a Reply

