I just bought ANOTHER domain…

Which means, when it’s up and running, that I will have a total of THREE blogs. Ridiculous!

So why do I feel the need to start yet another blog? Well, I guess it’s because I am still having a difficult time figuring out what content goes where. I had initially planned to use the second blog (LK) for most things, and only use notchangingmyname for more private stuff. But the more I post on LK the more I realize that it should just be a food/diet blog. When I first started it I had a feeling that would happen, and it did. Fine.

I really want to put as much of my writing as I can onto a “public” site. For example, the post the other day about politics. That could have been a public post, but since it definitely didn’t belong on LK I ended up posting it here, and now that post is “private” – meaning that my friends and family will never read it, since they’ll (hopefully) never know about this blog. But that was a good post, and I hate the fact that it’s “wasted.”

So I THINK the situation can be remedied by having a third site, where I would post everything BUT the most personal stuff (which I would leave for this site) and the food and diet stuff (which I would leave for LK). The new blog would have links to LK, but not to this site.

Maybe it’s a stupid idea, but when I sat at my desk on Friday discussing it with Tiffany it made complete sense. I think that having everything be more targeted and focused will make it easier for me in the long run. Or not. We’ll see!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Design, Personal, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I just bought ANOTHER domain…

  1. I completely feel you on this! I didn’t want to start a wedding blog, then I did. Then I wanted my main blog to focus more on fashion, makeup and all the things I like outside of my normal blogging. And I’m struggling if I should even do that! I’ll keep reading no matter how many blogs you have 🙂

  2. Matthew says:

    I get it. I try to keep my blog for dispensing advice and relationship articles. The only time I talk about my personal life is when I need to pull from experience to make a point.

    When it comes to writing about my current dating experiences, thoughts, etc., I guest write on a blog friends blog because odds of people I actually know ending up on her blog are few and far between.

  3. Jeyna Grace says:

    If only domains were still cheap after conversion rate in my country.

  4. Tony Bird says:

    One of my favorite things about this blog is the “dear diary” feel. I can completely understand wanting to have a more private blog (even if you have readers). I have some things going on in my life now that I really want to write about, but the fact that my blog is so public makes it impossible. It’s nice to have the support of others, even if they’re the faceless masses of the internet. Especially if they’re the faceless masses of the internet. 🙂

  5. Aw thank you Tony. It is nice to be able to share things with the faceless masses, because with the exception of one or two crazies I find that if people are going to take the time to comment then they are generally supportive.

    Let me know if you ever do go “private”, I’ll be sure to follow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

