Weekend/guy update

This weekend was the most do-nothingest weekend I’ve had in a long time. I really needed it, after the last few months I’ve had. Ever since I got back from Europe I’ve gone out every weekend for one reason or another – birthdays, goodbye parties, etc. (Wahhh, poor me, I’m just SOO busy.) On the one hand it’s nice to go out, because at least I’m living life and not sitting home alone watching t.v., but it was getting exhausting. And since I’ve got plans to go out again this coming weekend, I definitely wanted a break in between.

Remember B, who Di and I made friends with last year in New Orleans and who we went out with when he visited in March (I took him on the sightseeing tour)? Well, this week he’s in NY with a bunch of his firefighter friends to help with the Hurricane Sandy recovery. He hit me and Di up on Facebook the other day to see if we wanted to hang out. He and his firefighter friends are going to be staying at a firehouse in Brooklyn while they’re here. I don’t know what we’re going to do, but if all goes well then I foresee myself making out with at least one firefighter this weekend. 😉

Oh, speaking of making out…HBG finally went back to Germany. Last weekend was his going away party, and even though I didn’t want to I resigned myself to making out with him a few times. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. It’s like I didn’t want to hurt his feelings or deal with having to reject him, so I went along with the charade that I was interested in him, despite the fact that I wasn’t turned on AT ALL. Who does that?? But now he’s gone, so I won’t have to deal with that anymore. But after that experience, I decided that I need to stop worrying about other people’s feelings so much.

OH! That reminded me of another story I forgot to tell. The night before HBG’s going away thing, I found myself on a date with my salsa instructor! He had tried to talk to me a few months back, but I wasn’t interested so I told him I was busy. When he texted me like two weeks ago I still wasn’t interested in him romantically, but I WAS interested in him taking me out dancing. I figured I could hang out with him on a friendship tip and maybe something good would come from it.

So we went out. It was fine until the end of the night, when he went in for a kiss. I turned my head so it ended up being half cheek, half lips. Fortunately we were on the train, and he was getting off while I was staying on, so there was no chance for a second attempt. The next day he texted me asking when we could hang out again. Tiffany gave me advice on how to tell him that I wasn’t interested (actually, she wrote my entire response for me, I just copied and pasted it lol):

Him: “Hey. So I had a good time last night and want to see you outside of the studio again. You said you have a concert tomorrow. Are you free after the concert?”

Me: “I will be at the concert tomorrow but I have plans after.

Just throwing this out there. I really like taking classes at XXX and I don’t want to complicate things with dating in the school. It could get weird.

But, we can go out any time on the friendship tip for drinks or whatever. I’m sure you understand.”

He wrote back “Okay that’s cool, I understand.” I was like “cool.” And that was it – until a half hour later, when he texted me: “So when can we hang out again? Let me know when you’ll be free.” What the hell!! But whatever, it’s fine, at least there can’t be any misinterpretation of whether I’m interested. I just said “Okay, I’ll let you know.” I haven’t seen him since then, because I missed class last Wednesday. We’ll see what happens this week.

That’s all for now!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend/guy update

  1. ditchthemarriage says:

    You are not alone, in the “who does that!” comment, I believe a lot of us are guilty of perhaps leading someone a little further on for the sake of their feelings, that is why we are the softer sex 🙂

  2. MayDay says:

    Hahah i’ve kissed a guy rather than reject him also. It feels beyond awkward. i was hoping the kiss would signal the end of the night and he would finally leave. Also, Salsa teacher seems like he’s still hopeful for something more.

    • Yeah I think he’s still interested. of course, I don’t help the situation, because as soon as I feel he’s losing interest I giving him a few lingering stares to get him back on the hook. I like to be wanted, even if I don’t like the guy back. Fucked up, I know.

Leave a Reply

