The Bouncer – part 1

One night, back in October, my friends and I headed to my favorite bar in all of NYC. Why is it my favorite bar? Well, for one thing, the music is ALWAYS good, and as we all know, I love to dance! There also happens to be a high guy-to-girl ratio, which I appreciate (even more so because the guys are usually pretty cute).

That night there was a really cute guy working security. He was tall, dark and handsome. He was clearly into me – he was watching me the entire night, and would smile at me whenever I let my gaze linger for more than a few seconds. At one point I started to go downstairs to a different floor, just to see what was happening down there, and I swear he practically ran after me. He was like, “You’re not leaving now, are you??” I told him no, that I would be back, and he was like “Oh okay, good.” It was kinda cute.

When I came back upstairs he approached me. We spoke for 5 or 10 minutes, until he had to get back to work. It was a pretty normal conversation – what’s your name, where are you from, do you have a boyfriend, etc. He was friendly and funny, and he told me that he thought I was gorgeous, which is always nice to hear. At the end of the conversation he told me to make sure I came to see him again before I left.

I ended up leaving pretty soon after that. I was a bit nervous at the thought of just going up to him and starting a conversation, but I was also buzzed and feeling confident, and besides, it’s not like he was going to reject me! So I went up to him and said “I’m leaving now!” He asked me if he could get my number. I gave it to him, said goodnight, and then left feeling quite happy. Another successful night at my favorite bar in NYC.

But my happiness was short-lived. Why? Because he never called me! It really pissed me off…and bummed me out. He was the first guy I’d gotten excited over in quite some time. And it was confusing as hell! I mean, he’d stalked me all night, said all those nice things and then took my number, only to leave me hanging! WTF! Was he just stroking his own ego? Ugh. Men.

It didn’t help that right after that I spent the next four days stuck in my house doing nothing because of the hurricane. It was annoying how much time I spent thinking about him and the fact that he hadn’t called. But after a week or so I was over it.

But then I was left with a different problem: how could I go back to that bar, knowing that he would be there? Would it look like I was going there just to see him? What would I do when I saw him? Would I ignore him? Say something? What would he do? What would I do if he ignored me? (In case you haven’t noticed, I have a tendency to overthink things.)

In the end, all of my internal debating came down one question: Was I willing to stop going to my favorite place in NYC just because one guy didn’t call me?

Hell no I wasn’t!! There aren’t THAT many great places in NYC, and I was NOT willing to give this place up! And so I inevitably found myself back there a few weeks later…and yes, he was there.

To be continued…

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bouncer – part 1

  1. Or you just go back there and make it known that he missed out…subtly of course ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tony Bird says:

    I eagerly await the thrilling conclusion to [dramatic pause] The Bouncer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

