The Bouncer – part 3

(Read Part One and Part Two)

There is one important detail that I’ve left out of the tale of the Bouncer thus far, because it didn’t quite fit in with the flow of the story. But now I must disclose it, in order for the rest of the story to make sense.

It was that first night that I met the Bouncer, back in October. Before he approached me, as we were stealing glances at each other, I kept thinking to myself, “He looks really familiar.” I assumed that I had seen him at the bar before – not a stretch of the imagination by any means, considering I’ve been there at least a dozen times since May.

Then we had our first conversation, during which he told me his name. After he walked away I was left thinking, “That name sounds sooo familiar!” I decided that I must know him from somewhere other than the bar. But I still couldn’t place it.

It wasn’t until I went up to him to say goodbye and he was taking down my number that it finally clicked. I don’t want to be too specific, so all I’ll say is that I had seen him on tv, like 10 years ago.

I googled him during my cab ride home, and the results confirmed who he was. Unfortunately, the google search also revealed that he’d gotten into some (non-violent) legal trouble in the not-too-distant past. I spent the next few hours and some of the next day reading articles about what he’d been doing over the past decade.

Most people would have been put off by his legal woes, but I wasn’t. I mean, it definitely made me apprehensive, but he’d made enough of an impression on me that I still wanted to get to know him. My thought process:

Thinking with my head: I can only imagine what the articles would have said if someone had written about the bad parts of MY life. There’s so much more to me than the things I’ve done that would have been considered “newsworthy,” and I’m sure there’s more to him as well.

Thinking with my vagina: He is soooo hot. If it turns out that he isn’t relationship material, at the very least we can still have a good time.

When he didn’t call me, as annoyed as I was, I was able to comfort myself with the fact that it was for the best. After all, why would I want to get involved with someone who has that type of drama going on in his life?

Now I can proceed with the rest of the story.  To be continued!

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bouncer – part 3

  1. Can’t wait to hear more!

    – K.

Leave a Reply

