Two dates in one week – part one

Last Friday was basically a repeat of the Friday before: went out after work, got drunk, and made out with some random guy (I’ll call him “Pic-stitcher”). The only difference was that I didn’t wake up the next day with a hickey on my neck. (Oh wait…another difference was that I drank wayyyy too much and ended up sleeping on my bathroom floor, waking up every 15-30 minutes so I could puke. Hot mess.)

On Saturday I was supposed to meet up with the Hickey Guy, but he got in a car accident the night before, so after a little bit of conversation I said we should just reschedule. I felt bad that he had gotten hurt, but I was SOOOO relieved that I didn’t have to meet up with him, because I was still really hungover.

On Saturday and Sunday I texted back and forth a little bit with Pic-stitcher. He gave me his full name and told me to find him on Facebook, which was definitely a first for me. I looked at all his Facebook activity, and I wasn’t sure what to make of it. He posts sooo many pics! And he does a LOT of pic-stitching (hence his nickname). I don’t know, maybe I’m crazy to feel this way, but isn’t all that pic posting usually more of a chick thing?

But I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. He just moved to NY from California a few months ago, so maybe all the uploading is a way to stay connected with his friends and family back home. We’ll see.

Anyway, on Sunday Pic-stitcher and I made a super bowl bet (“loser buys dinner”), which I won. On Monday he asked when I wanted to do dinner, and we made plans for Thursday night.

Also on Monday, Hickey Guy asked me if I wanted to get a drink during the week. I said I couldn’t, because “my schedule this week is packed!” I was supposed to be going upstate this weekend (now I’m not, because of the snow), and the rest of my week I was busy with salsa class, zumba and my dinner date with Pic-stitcher. Yes, I could have skipped zumba or salsa, but I really didn’t want to…which shows you my level of interest in meeting up with him at all. But then he gave me a sad face ( 😦 ) and it made me feel bad, so I suggested meeting up on Wednesday for a quick drink before my salsa class.

And that’s how I found myself with two dates lined up for this week. Honestly, I wasn’t excited about either of them. Both guys are cute, and there was really no reason for me NOT to be excited, but I wasn’t. At all. In fact, I was really tempted to cancel on both of them, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to go out with them. You never know, right?

To be continued.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Sex, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two dates in one week – part one

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    I’m now on the same boat, 30 something, separated with no hope of ever returning to my marriage with a Man whose Navy career is for sure over, Stone Waller, insulting and controlling behavior has me sooooo over it. 8 years of marriage- gone. New life? Dating? Scary!

  2. I always love your dating stories and can’t wait to see how this one turns out

Leave a Reply

