Two dates in one week – part two

(Part One)

I shouldn’t have waited so long to tell the rest of this story. I’ve just been so busy at work! Oh well, I’ll try to capture how I was feeling right after my two dates last week.

Hickey Guy

I really wasn’t looking forward to meeting up with Hickey Guy. I think that on some level I knew I wasn’t going to be into him (despite our makeout sesh), so it was like, why should I waste my time? I think part of the problem was that a lot of time had passed between the night we first met and when we were finally meeting up for a drink. Almost two weeks. Any excitement I had felt about him had pretty much disappeared.

But of course there was always the possibility that I might be wrong and could actually  end up liking him. That’s why I decided to go.

I wasn’t wrong. Our drink date (he had a drink, I had a club soda since I was going to salsa) was fine. He’s nice, he’s funny, friendly, and overall is pretty cute. But I just wasn’t attracted to him! Which sucks, but it is what it is.

Our date was only 45 minutes. Then I had to leave for salsa class. When we said goodbye he went in for a makeout, and I didn’t resist, because apparently I don’t know how to say no. It wasn’t a bad kiss, but it didn’t change my mind about how I was feeling about him.

He texted me the next morning: “Hey!!” I didn’t respond. I meant to, but then I forgot, and then I had my other date that night, and then it was the next day and I still didn’t feel like responding, and then I forgot about it and the next thing I knew it was Sunday and it was way too late to respond.

On Tuesday he texted me: “So I guess you’re not interested :-(“. I don’t know why, but the sad face made me feel really bad! I wanted to respond with something like “You’re a really nice guy, but no, I’m not interested,” but I was talked out of it by my friends, who like Hickey Guy more than I do! They think he seems like a nice guy (not the typical asshole I usually go for), and they convinced me to go on another date with him.

So I responded with “No I’ve just been super busy. How are you?” We talked a little bit, and the conversation ended with him saying “Okay I’m going to sleep now, let me know if you’re free to hang out this week or next.” I responded with “I’ll text you tomorrow, have a good night!”

I didn’t text him the next day (yesterday). Today he texted me at like 7:30 in the morning: “Happy Valentine’s Day babe!” Babe? Really?? Lol. I replied, “Thanks, same to you :-)”.  I don’t know, whenever I see a text like that I assume that the guy has sent that one text message to multiple recipients, hence the use of the generic “babe.” But I could be wrong.

Tomorrow I’ll text him and make plans for next week. I guess. (I feel like a whiny child: “But I don’t WANNA go out with him!!!” Lol.)

To be continued.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Sex, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two dates in one week – part two

  1. SillyG says:

    For sure go out with him! Sometimes the attractive part creeps up on one…. or not.

Leave a Reply

