Two dates in one week – part three

(Part OnePart Two)

I like to tell my dating stories in chronological order, so before I talk about what happened with the guy from the train from the other day, let me finish up my story about Pic-Stitcher (so-called because he posts a lot of pictures on Facebook and Instagram using the Pic Stitch App).

My date with Pic-Stitcher was two weeks ago. Once again, it was a date that I really didn’t want to go on. But we had made a Super Bowl bet, which I won, and since he “owed” me a dinner I figured I might as well go – at least there wouldn’t be that awkward moment of me having to offer to split the bill. But after being correct about how lame my date with Hickey Guy was going to be, I was convinced that my date with Pic-Stitcher was going to be a dud as well.

I could not have been more wrong!

Pic-Stitcher and I work a few blocks away from each other, so we made plans to meet up at a nearby restaurant at 7. I don’t know why, but for some reason, when I was visualizing him in my head, I was imagining him as being not that cute and kind of fat. I have no idea WHY I was visualizing him like that, because we were already friends on facebook and I could see from his many pictures that that wasn’t the case. But I hadn’t checked his FB since several days earlier, so I guess I forgot?

In any case, when I went into the restaurant and I saw him standing there I was like “Well hellooooo there.” He was soooo much cuter than I was expecting! I immediately thought to myself, “Okay, I might have a good time tonight after all.”

And I did. We ate dinner, and then after dinner we moved over to the bar and had a few drinks. The conversation was fun and flirty and pretty much nonstop – no awkwardness at all. At one point later in the evening when we were at the bar my leg touched his, and holy shit, I got like the biggest jolt of sexual electricity! Even though I was into him, I was NOT expecting such a strong physical reaction.

We stayed at the bar until around 11, and then walked to the train station. We kissed for like a minute while we were waiting for the train, and that was it. We took the train together for one stop, then I said goodbye and proceeded to my next train. When I got home I texted him to thank him for dinner and tell him I had fun. He replied, “I had a great time! I hope there will be a next time. Sooner rather than later :-).” Aww.

So yeah, that was two weeks ago. I’ve seen him twice since then. The first time was last week – VALENTINE’S DAY! Yes, I actually had a date for Valentine’s Day. It was completely unexpected. And it almost didn’t happen.

I texted him to say Happy Valentine’s Day. He asked me what I was doing after work, and I told him I was going to the gym. Then he asked me if I wanted to get a drink after. For some reason that I still can’t quite understand, instead of saying “Yes” I decided to say, “I don’t know, I’m gonna be all sweaty from the gym. And in my workout clothes and sneakers no less.” He was like, “Lol it’s cool, no worries.”

I immediately emailed my friend with the subject line: “Did I just fuck this up??” I recapped the conversation to her, and she said, “I don’t know why you’re self sabotaging, but it’s fine. Just tell him you’d rather get a drink instead of going to the gym.” So that’s what I did, and we ended up meeting for drinks after work. It was another really good date.

He did ask me what I thought about the fact that he had asked me out on Valentine’s Day. I said that I was surprised because I know how weird guys can be when it comes to the Valentine’s Day stigma. He told me that he had been debating asking me out, and that he had asked a female coworker what he should do: “I really like this girl and I want to ask her out tonight but I don’t know if I should because it’s Valentine’s Day.” The coworker said, “If you like her then just ask her out. Period.” And so he did. Thanks coworker!

I saw him AGAIN the next day, which was my birthday. I had told him where I would be hanging out with my friends after work, and invited him to stop by if he wanted. He showed up at around 9:30 with some coworkers and only stayed for maybe 10 minutes, because his coworkers wanted to go to this other spot downtown. He invited me to go with them, but I didn’t want to go.

He ended up coming back like 2 hours later, by himself. He hung out with me and my friends for awhile, and then we left, stopping to get pizza and then at his job so he could pick up his gym bag. We had a 20-minute makeout session while we were walking to the subway, but I went home alone. Which is a good thing.

So yeah, that’s where I’m at with Pic-Stitcher. I don’t even know how I feel about the whole thing. I DO like him, but I don’t feel that craziness with him the way I felt with the Bouncer – which is also a good thing but is weird for me because I’m not used to something developing in such a normal way. After all those lame OkCupid dates I really had no idea what it felt like to want to go out on a second date. Lol. Whatever, I’m just going to keep dating him and we’ll see where this goes, if anywhere. We have another date tomorrow.

Time for me to run. I have a date with the Train Guy tonight. Sigh.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Sex, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two dates in one week – part three

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    Another great post. It’s amazing how the unexpected turns out to be the expected. I love those suprises most times and while sometimes I think, “am I really this doubtful?” Then I just get hard myself for like- an hour…… Since I’m venturing out into new (this seperation is leading to divorce) territory, I asked my Mom last night when it was appropriate to stop wearing my wedding ring. She responds, “Jeni, don’t you have a gut?” I looked back with the widest owl stare and responded, “my gut is telling me it’s not over yet.” Maybe it’s because Im growing emotionally stronger? Whichever of possibilities, I don’t think I’ll be dating for a looooong while. However that lasts.

    • Thanks!

      Yeah your mom is right, your gut will tell you when it’s the right time. I think I wore my ring for about six months after my husband and I decided to split. We were still living together, so I felt really weird taking it off. Then one day I remember thinking “Why am I still wearing this ring?” So it took it off, and it still felt weird! But it was the right time.

  2. Not at all how I expected this to turn out but kudos to you! I am SO curious to how the train guy date will turn out. From the three, I already have it in my mind that it will be the most fun just from the randomnes of how you met and how ballsy he was to make sure he got your number. Of course I will stay posted to see how these situation ends up!

Leave a Reply

